

The Transportation Policy Body for the North Central Texas Council of Governments (Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Dallas-Fort Worth Region)

April 19, 2024

The Honorable Baine Brooks Mayor City of Allen 305 Century Parkway Allen, TX 75013

The Honorable Scott Bradley Mayor City of Murphy 206 North Murphy Rd. Murphy, TX 75094

The Honorable Lee Pettle Mayor City of Parker 5700 E. Parker Rd. Parker, TX 75002 The Honorable Jeff Bickerstaff Mayor City of Sachse 3815 Sachse Rd. Sachse, TX 75048

The Honorable Jim Olk Mayor City of Lucas 665 Country Club Rd. Lucas, TX 75002-7651

The Honorable Vicki Sanson Mayor City of Lavon PO Box 340 Lavon, TX 75166 The Honorable Matthew Porter Mayor City of Wylie 300 Country Club Rd., Bldg. 100 Wylie, TX 75098

The Honorable Blake Margolis Mayor City of Rowlett 4000 Main St. Rowlett, TX 75088

Dear Mayors Brooks, Bickerstaff, Porter, Bradley, Olk, Margolis, Pettle, and Sanson:

The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is the Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Dallas-Fort Worth Metropolitan Area. The Regional Transportation Council (RTC), composed primarily of local elected officials, is the transportation policy body for the MPO. The RTC is responsible for direction and approval of the Metropolitan Transportation Plan, the Transportation Improvement Program, the Congestion Management Process, and the Unified Planning Work Program, and for satisfying and implementing federal and state laws and regulations pertaining to the regional transportation planning process.

Membership on the Regional Transportation Council is either by direct membership or group representation. Each seat on the Regional Transportation Council will be provided a primary member and permitted an alternate member. The Cities of Allen, Rowlett, Sachse, Wylie, Murphy, Lucas Paker and Lavon share a seat on the Regional Transportation Council. The Cities of Parker and Lavon were added when the Bylaws were updated in November 2022. The RTC's Bylaws and Operating Procedures state that the person representing a group of several cities shall be selected by the mayors using a weighted vote of the maximum population or employment of the cities represented, and the person selected shall serve a two-year term beginning in July of even-numbered years and shall be serving on one of the governing bodies they represent. A table containing population and employment figures is enclosed. The Bylaws further state that in the spirit of integrated transportation planning, all cities within a city-only cluster are eligible to hold the RTC membership seat for the cluster, and the cities should strongly consider rotation of the seat among the entities within the respective cluster. Items to consider when contemplating seat rotation may include: 1) a natural break in a member's government service, such as the conclusion of an elected term, 2) a member's potential to gain an officer position or advance through the officer ranks, 3) a member's strong performance and commitment to transportation planning, or 4) the critical nature of a particular issue or project and its impact on an entity within the cluster.

Page Two

An alternate member is the individual appointed to represent an entity or group of entities on the Regional Transportation Council in the absence of the primary member. The alternate member must be predetermined in advance of a meeting and will have voting rights in the absence of the primary member. An entity or group of entities may elect to appoint its alternate member(s) from a pool of eligible nominees. The same requirements apply to alternate members as to primary members. If a primary member is an elected official, then the alternate member must also be an elected official; if a primary member is a non-elected individual, then the alternate member can be either a non-elected individual or an elected official. A best practice for city-only clusters may be to appoint the alternate member from an eligible entity within the cluster that is not providing the primary member.

Your current primary representative is Chris Schulmeister, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Allen. Your current alternate representative is Matthew Porter, Mayor, City of Wylie. You may choose to appoint a new primary representative and/or alternate representative. **All appointments, whether a reappointment or new appointment, must be received by June 30, 2024.** Per the RTC Bylaws, the new two-year terms begin in July. Please email (<u>VPruitt-Jenkins@nctcog.org</u>), mail (P.O. Box 5888, Arlington, TX 76005-5888), or fax (817/640-3028) your correspondence to Vercie Pruitt-Jenkins of NCTCOG. Please note that your designations must be confirmed in writing by all entities included in this group. Once the appointments have been determined by weighted vote, confirmation of the primary and/or alternate member(s) will be provided to your group.

In addition, the Regional Transportation Council has established an Ethics Policy in accordance with Section 472.034 of the Texas Transportation Code. This policy applies to both primary and alternate RTC members, whether elected or non-elected. All RTC members must also adhere to Chapter 171 of the Local Government Code and to the Code of Ethics from their respective local governments and public agencies. Please remind your representatives to be cognizant of these policies and codes.

Please contact Vercie Pruitt-Jenkins at <u>VPruitt-Jenkins@nctcog.org</u> or 817/608-2325 if you have any questions. We look forward to working with you.

Sincerely,

Gyna Bivens, Chair Regional Transportation Council Mayor Pro Tem, City of Fort Worth

VPJ Enclosure

cc: Chris Schulmeister, Councilmember, City of Allen (RTC Primary Member) Aretha Adams, City Manager, City of Murphy Joni Clarke, City Manager, City of Lucas Kim Dobbs, City Manager, City of Lavon Eric Ellwanger, City Manager, City of Allen David Hall, City Manager, City of Rowlett Gina Nash, City Manager, City of Sachse Luke Olson, City Administrator, City of Parker Brent Parker, City Manager, City of Wylie