

Wylie City Council

AGENDA REPORT

Department:	City Secretary	Account Code:	
Prepared By:	Mary Bradley		

Subject

Consider, and act upon, Resolution No. 2025-09(R) authorizing the City Secretary to terminate the Campaign Treasurer Appointment of inactive candidates or inactive political committees.

Recommendation

Motion to approve the Item as presented.

Discussion

On November 12, 2024 the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 2024-41 authorizing the City Secretary, pursuant to State Campaign Finance Law, to terminate the Campaign Treasurer Appointments of inactive candidates or inactive political committees.

The City Secretary has provided written notice to the affected candidate or committees. The City Council must consider and approve the proposed terminations of each inactive candidate or inactive committee. Below are the names:

- Andres Gonzalez (2014)
- Bennie Jones (2012, 2015, 2016)
- Candy Arrington (2015, 2018)
- Christopher Trout (1998)
- Dan Rainey (2006)
- David Goss (2007, 2010)
- Diane Culver (2015)
- Elvia Clark (2006)
- James Swartz (1999, 2000)
- Joel Hemphill (2006)
- John Mondy (1998, 2000, 2002)
- John Onufreiczuk (2007)
- Joseph Aurelio (2004)
- Kenna Johnson (1998)
- Merrill Young (2006)
- Randal Shinn (2003, 2004)
- Reta Allen (2000)
- Steven Wright (2018)
- Zewge Kagnew (2017)

If approved, the termination of a Campaign Treasurer Appointment takes effect on the 30th day after this meeting. The City Secretary will notify the affected candidate or political committee that the appointment has been terminated.