

Wylie City Council

AGENDA REPORT

Department:	Fire	Account Code:
Prepared By:	Fire – Brandon Blythe	
Subject		
Congressman Keith Self presenting congratulatory letters to the Wylie Fire Rescue 2023 Award Winners.		
Recommendation		
Presentation		

Discussion

Congressman Keith Self TX 3 is presenting Wylie Fire Rescue 2023 Award Winner's congratulatory letters. The recipients are:

- Rookie of the Year Josh Ludeman
- Firefighter of the Year Johnathon Hawkes
- Driver/Engineer of the Year Travis Martinez
- Captain of the Year Jerry Simmons
- Chief Officer of the Year Cory Claborn
- Rookie Dispatcher of the Year Grace Cotton
- Dispatcher of the Year Rory Strain
- Paramedic of the Year George Watson
- Crew of the Year Training Team, Comprised of Captain Jeff Pynes, Firefighter/Paramedic Tyler New, Driver/Engineer Brennen Lunsford
- Administrative Employee of the Year Yessica Guerra
- Paramedics Plus EMS Provider of the Year Diana Garcia Santacruz
- Turtle Award (Given for a blooper or funny event) Cutter Davidson
- Community Recognition Backyard Murphy for supporting WFR and our Pipes and Drums Program
- Community Recognition The Salty Dogs, a local band made up of members of WFR, was recognized for their fundraising efforts for a local firefighter's daughter who was diagnosed with cancer.
- Chief's Award Firefighter/Paramedic Jacob Miller for his recruiting efforts for hiring personnel in the EMS division
- Chief's Award Battalion Chief Katy Willoughby for her recruiting and hiring efforts over the last several years while WFR experienced rapid growth.