AGENDA ITEM COMMENTARY

MEETING NAME: Wolfforth City Council

MEETING DATE: May 6, 2024

ITEM TITLE: Consider and take appropriate action on Board Appointments to

Wolfforth EDC Board of Directors, Planning and Zoning

Commission, and TIRZ #2 Board of Directors

STAFF INITIATOR: Terri Robinette, City Secretary

BACKGROUND:

Boards and Commission play an important role in the local government process and enable the public to help shape and influence public policy.

Members of these Boards are appointed by the City Council and serve a 2-year term with no term limits. Each March, staff begins reaching out to current Board members to gauge their interest in continuing to serve and brings forward a list of candidates to the Council in May for appointments. The following citizens are interested in continuing to serve on their respective Boards:

EDC – Farley Reeves, Glen Frick, Russell Thomasson

P&Z – Kyle Reeves, Charlotte McDonald, Russell Dabbs

TIRZ – Brandon Tyler, David Cooper, Aubrey Brockman

We are currently accepting applications for a vacancy on the TIRZ Board. If the City Council has any recommendations of possible applicants, staff would be happy to reach out to those who may be interested in serving.

EXHIBITS:

Board Information Listing

COUNCIL ACTION/STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends the following:

- Reappoint Kyle Reeves as Place 1 on P&Z, Reappoint Robert Garcia as Place 2 P&Z, Reappoint Charlotte McDonald as Place 4 on P&Z, Reappoint Russell Dabbs as Alternate #1 on P&Z
- Reappoint the following to two-year terms on the EDC Board: Glen Frick, Farley Reeves, Russell Thomasson
- Reappoint the following to two-year terms on the TIRZ Board: Aubrey Brockman, Brandon Tyler and David Cooper