

ARTS, CULTURE, AND HERITAGE COMMISSION MINUTES

March 6, 2024 at 5:00 PM

Wilsonville City Hall

CALL TO ORDER [5:00 PM]

A regular meeting for the Arts, Culture, and Heritage Commission (ACHC) was held at City Hall and called to order at 5:04 PM.

PRESENT

Chair Deb Zundel, Member Susan Schenk, Member Jason Jones, Member Angie Sims, Member David Altman, Member Nadine Albitar, Member Joan Carlson, Member Benjamin Mefford, Member Sageera Oravil Abdulla Koya.

EX OFFICIO/ CITY STAFF/ GUESTS

Austin Barnes, Panelist and Skate Community Member Cooper Singrey, Panelist and Skate Community Member Kris Ammerman, Parks and Recreation Director Erika Valentine, Arts and Culture Program Coordinator Ethan Picman, Library Services Manager Stephanie Davidson, Assistant City Attorney Bill Flood, Consultant Raziah Roushan, Consultant

CONSENT AGENDA

Member Jones made a motion to approve the January 24, 2024 ACHC Minutes. Member Carlson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

CITIZEN INPUT

There was no citizen input.

ARTS & CULTURE PROGRAM COORDINATOR UPDATE

Erika Valentine provided an update on CCEP Grant Projects, Pride Month Mural, Performers/artists directory project, etc.

COMMISSION BUSINESS

Arts, Culture, and Heritage Commission March 6, 2024

- The ACHC received an informative presentation from Assistant City Attorney, Stephanie Davidson, regarding procurement rules that are applicable to public art.
- The Skatepark mural project received 50 RFQ's which an internal team scored, reviewed and discussed. The Panel consisted of the ACHC and two members of the Skate Community. The ACHC (Panel) received the top 8 applications in their packet and scored them based on the RFQ rubric, prior to attending the March 6 meeting. Staff provided the panel with a ranked list of the top 8 artists. During the meeting the Panel discussed topics like the artists themes, color pallets, experience with outdoor projects, experience with large scale projects, variety in work/themes, appropriateness/applicability for a skatepark, etc. Through this process the Panel decided which 4 artist should advance to the design proposal round.

Member Altman made a motion for the following artists to advance to the design proposal round: Liza Burns, Travis Fields, Mila Sketch and Abigail Penfold. Member Schenk seconded the motion. All Panelists voted in favor and the motion passed.

ADJOURN

Meeting adjourned at 6:32PM.

NEXT MEETING

Wednesday, April 17, 2024 5:00 PM