

CITY COUNCIL AGENDA ITEM BRIEFING SHEET

Council Date:	Department:	Presented By:
November 26, 2024	Admin	City Manager

AGENDA ITEM:

Discuss and take action on selection of Appraisal District Directors

BACKGROUND:

Section 6.03 (k) of the Texas Property Code requires each voting tax unit to vote in open meeting, record its vote by written resolution, and submit the resolution to the Chief Appraiser by December 15, 2024. A taxing unit may cast its votes for one candidate or distribute the votes among any number of candidates.

A voting tax unit may only cast votes for persons nominated and named on the ballot. The five candidates who receive the highest number of votes will be declared the winners. The 2025 Official Ballot Candidates are:

Richard Barrett Jerry Durant Phil Garcia John Hinton Cody Lane John McGuire Sterling Naron

The City of Willow Park has 55 of the total 5000 votes as noted in the packet.

Staff Suggested Memo: I move to cast all 55 votes for Cody Lane.

STAFF/BOARD/COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION:

EXHIBITS:

Supplemental information from the Parker County Appraisal District