WHITE LAKE TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION

REPORT OF THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

TO: Planning Commission

FROM: Sean O'Neil, AICP, Community Development Director

Justin Quagliata, Staff Planner

DATE: January 4, 2022

RE: Election of Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary

The Planning Commission bylaws require at the first regular meeting in January of each year, the Commission must select from its members a Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary. In accordance with the Michigan Planning Enabling Act (Public Act 33 of 2008), an elected official of the Township cannot serve as chair or vice-chair of the Planning Commission. The general duties of each position are as follows:

Chair: The chair shall preside at all meetings, appoint committees and liaisons to other groups with concurrence from the Planning Commission, authorize calls for special meetings, and perform such other duties as may be specified by the Planning Commission.

Vice-Chair: The vice-chair shall act in the capacity of the chair in the chair's absence. In the event the office of the chair becomes vacant, the vice-chair shall succeed to this office for the unexpired term.

Secretary: The secretary shall perform those duties as assigned by the Michigan Planning Enabling Act (Public Act 33 of 2008) related to the Master Plan and may be assigned other duties from time to time.

At the meeting on January 6, 2022 the current Chair will request nominations for the officer positions listed above. Once nominations are made the Planning Commission will vote on each office. The Commissioner receiving the most votes will serve in that position. The elected officer will begin serving immediately after being selected and will remain in office for the remainder of the year. Current officers may be re-elected; however, the Planning Commission bylaws restrict any officer from serving more than two consecutive terms.

Election of Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary Planning Commission (January 6, 2022) Page 2

Staff research indicates the current Vice-Chair served in 2020 and 2021 and therefore is not eligible for another term as Vice-Chair in 2022, but is eligible for a different officer position. The current Planning Commission officers are as follows:

Chair: Steve Anderson (2021 was 1st term in position) Vice-Chair: Merrie Carlock (2021 was 2nd term in position)

Secretary: Vacant

If the Planning Commission desires to delay the election of officers, the following motion is provided:

• Motion to suspend Planning Commission bylaw 3.1.A to conduct the 2022 election of officers after the first regular meeting in January.