

City Council Meeting Staff Report

Meeting Date: June 10, 2025

Subject: Consideration of appointment to the City of Wheatland Planning

Commission.

Prepared By: Bill Zenoni, City Manager

Recommendation

Consider the application received for the Wheatland Planning Commission vacancy and make a motion with a second to approve the appointment to the City of Wheatland Planning Commission.

Background/Discussion

Pursuant to Section 2.20.030 of the Wheatland Municipal Code, the City of Wheatland Planning Commission is comprised of five (5) members appointed by a majority vote of the City Council.

A list of the current Commission members is below:

Current Term Expires	Commissioner
December 2026	Debbie Panteloglow
December 2026	David Pesenti
December 2026	Ken Thomason
December 2028	Gregory Hart
December 2028	Vacancy

As a result, the Wheatland Planning Commission currently has one vacancy.

On April 2, 2025, the Wheatland City Clerk noticed the Planning Commission vacancy on the City's website as well as the City's posting boards. Typically, the vacancy notice is posted for 30 days. However, the city did not receive an application within the 30-day period. As a result, the notice remained on the City's website until an application was received. On May 14, 2025, the City Clerk received an application from Ryan Epperson (see Attachment 1).

Staff recommends the City Council consider the appointment of the applicant to the Planning Commission for a four-year term ending in December 2028.

The applicant has been informed the City Council will consider the appointment at this meeting.

Attachments

1) Ryan Epperson – PC Application