City of Westwood, Kansas City Council Planning Commission Joint Work Session February 24, 2025 – 6:00 p.m.

Council Present: David E. Waters, Mayor

Jeff Harris, Council President Jason Hannaman, Councilmember Laura Steele, Councilmember Holly Wimer, Councilmember

Council Absent: Andrew Buckman, Councilmember

Commissioners Present: Sarah Page, Chair

Ann Holliday
David Kelman
Emily Keyser
Mark Neibling
Sarah Page
Matt Prout

Commissioners Absent: Kevin Breer

Samantha Kaiser

Staff Present: Leslie Herring, City Administrator

Curtis Mansell, Police Chief

John Sullivan, Public Works Director

Abby Schneweis, City Clerk

Call to Order

Mayor Waters called the work session to order at 6:00 p.m. on February 24, 2025. Ms. Herring called the roll. A quorum was present. The evening's meeting was held in a hybrid manner, with attendees joining both in person and via Zoom.

New Business (City Council Action)

Consider Appointments to the Westwood Planning Commission

The members of the Westwood Planning Commission are appointed by the Mayor, with the consent of the Governing Body, and serve for a term of three (3) years each (16.1.4.2). Planning Commissioners whose terms are expiring effective February 28, 2025 include:

- Clay Fulghum 4837 Booth St., appointed July 2021
- Ann Holliday 2714 W. 49th Ter., appointed February 2022
- Matt Prout 5106 Belinder Ave., appointed May 2017

Commissioners Fulghum and Holliday are both seeking renewal of their terms. Commissioner Prout is not seeking reappointment; he has shared that he feels he would like to focus on other priorities.

Following Commissioner Prout's notice to vacate his seat, the Mayor issued an open call for candidates. Statements of interest from five (5) residents were received. Following review of those statements of

interest, Mayor David Waters and Planning Commission Chair Sarah Page interviewed the five candidates and the Mayor is recommending the Governing Body consent to the appointment of Scott McCracken for a three-year term.

The following candidates, who all reside in Westwood, are qualified appointees and are hereby recommended by the Mayor to serve on the Westwood Planning Commission for terms or three (3) years each.

Clay Fulghum	4837 Booth St.	March 1, 2025 – February 28, 2028
Ann Holliday	2714 W. 49th Ter.	March 1, 2025 – February 28, 2028
Scott McCracken	2902 W. 51st Ter.	March 1, 2025 – February 28, 2028

Motion by Councilmember Wimer to confirm the appointment of Clay Fulghum, Ann Holliday, and Scott McCracken to the Westwood Planning Commission, each for a three-year term to expire February 28, 2028, and for Leslie Herring in her capacity as notary public to administer the oath of office at the next regular meeting of the Planning Commission. Second by Councilmember Hannaman. Motion carried by a 4-0 voice vote.

Work Session Items/Discussion of Upcoming Matters

Mayor Waters and Commissioner Page conducted a discussion of upcoming priorities for the City. Topics raised and discussed by the Governing Body and Planning Commission included preservation of the tree canopy, community assistance programs, and capital improvement planning and funding.

Adjournment

Motion by Councilmember Hannaman to adjourn the meeting. Second by Councilmember Harris. Motion carried by a 5-0 voice vote. The meeting was adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

APPROVE	D:	
	Sarah Page, Chair	
ATTEST:		
_	Leslie Herring, Secretary	