## **COUNCIL ACTION FORM**

Meeting Date: February 8, 2024 Staff Contact: Leslie Herring, City Administrator

Agenda Item: Consider Appointments and to the Westwood Planning Commission

## Background / Description of Item

The members of the Westwood Planning Commission are appointed by the Mayor, with the consent of the Governing Body, and serve for a term of three (3) years each (16.1.4.2). Planning Commissioners whose terms are expiring effective February 29, 2024 include:

Candidate	Residential Address	Date Appointed
Kevin Breer	2916 W. 47 <sup>th</sup> Ter.	2015
Mark Neibling	2708 W. 48 <sup>th</sup> St.	July 2021
M. Scott Weaver	2519 W. 51 <sup>st</sup> St.	May 2018

Commissioners Breer and Neibling are both seeking renewal of their terms. Commissioner Weaver is not seeking reappointment; he has shared that he feels since he has served two terms, that another Westwood resident be given the opportunity to serve the community in this way.

## **Mayoral Recommendation**

Following Commissioner Weaver's notice to vacate his seat, the Mayor issued an open call for candidates. Statements of interest from two (2) residents were received. Following review of those statements of interest, Mayor David Waters and Planning Commission Chair Sarah Page conferred, and the Mayor is recommending the Governing Body consent<sup>1</sup> to the appointment of Emily Keyser for a three-year term.

Ms. Keyser is an 8-year resident of Westwood. She holds a degree in urban planning from the University of Missouri – Kansas City and has worked for both the City of Lee's Summit, Missouri and the Unified Government of Wyandotte County-Kansas City, Kansas.

## **Staff Comments**

The following candidates, who all reside in Westwood are qualified appointees and are hereby recommended by the Mayor to serve on the Westwood Planning Commission for terms or three (3) years each.

Candidate	Residential Address	Term
Kevin Breer	2916 W. 47 <sup>th</sup> Ter.	March 1, 2024 – February 28, 2027
Emily Keyser	2915 W. 51 <sup>st</sup> St.	March 1, 2024 – February 28, 2027
Mark Neibling	2708 W. 48 <sup>th</sup> St.	March 1, 2024 – February 28, 2027

<sup>1</sup> Pursuant to Westwood Zoning Ordinance 1.4.2 Commission Membership and Appointment.

Suggested Motion of the Mayor

I move to confirm the appointment of Kevin Breer, Emily Keyser, and Mark Neibling to the Westwood Planning Commission, each for a three-year term to expire February 28, 2027, and for Leslie Herring in her capacity as notary public to administer the oath of office at the next regular meeting of the Planning Commission.