COUNCIL ACTION FORM

Meeting Date: February 24, 2025

Staff Contact: Leslie Herring, City Administrator

Agenda Item: Consider Appointments and to the Westwood Planning Commission

Background / Description of Item

The members of the Westwood Planning Commission are appointed by the Mayor, with the consent of the Governing Body, and serve for a term of three (3) years each (16.1.4.2). Planning Commissioners whose terms are expiring effective February 28, 2025 include:

Candidate	Residential Address	Date Appointed
Clay Fulghum	4837 Booth St.	July 2021
Ann Holliday	2714 W. 49 th Ter.	February 2022
Matt Prout	5106 Belinder Ave.	May 2017

Commissioners Fulghum and Holliday are both seeking renewal of their terms. Commissioner Prout is not seeking reappointment; he has shared that he feels he would like to focus on other priorities.

Mayoral Recommendation

Following Commissioner Prout's notice to vacate his seat, the Mayor issued an open call for candidates. Statements of interest from five (5) residents were received. Following review of those statements of interest, Mayor David Waters and Planning Commission Chair Sarah Page interviewed the five candidates and the Mayor is recommending the Governing Body consent¹ to the appointment of Scott McCracken for a three-year term.

Staff Comments

The following candidates, who all reside in Westwood are qualified appointees and are hereby recommended by the Mayor to serve on the Westwood Planning Commission for terms or three (3) years each.

Candidate	Residential Address	Term
Clay Fulghum	4837 Booth St.	March 1, 2025 – February 28, 2028
Ann Holliday	2714 W. 49 th Ter.	March 1, 2025 – February 28, 2028
Scott McCracken	2902 W. 51 st Ter.	March 1, 2025 – February 28, 2028

Suggested Motion of the Mayor

I move to confirm the appointment of Clay Fulghum, Ann Holliday, and Scott McCracken to the Westwood Planning Commission, each for a three-year term to expire February 28, 2028, and for Leslie

¹ Pursuant to Westwood Zoning Ordinance 1.4.2 Commission Membership and Appointment.

Herring in her capacity as notary public to administer the oath of office at the next regular meeting of the Planning Commission.