A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF WALTON COUNTY, GEORGIA AMENDING RESOLUTION NUMBER 2001-29 OF AUGUST 7, 2001 SO AS TO PROVIDE THAT THE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF WALTON COUNTY SHALL BE AN EX OFFICIO MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF WALTON COUNTYAND TO CLARIFY THE PROCESS FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF THE MAYORS OF THE CITIES OF MONROE, SOCIAL CIRCLE, AND LOGANVILLE AS EX OFFICIO MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF WALTON COUNTY

WHEREAS, Resolution 2001-29 of the Board of Commissioners of Walton County (hereinafter "Board of Commissioners"), enacted on August 7, 2001 (hereinafter "2001 Resolution"), established the method for the appointment of the members of the Board of Directors of the Development Authority of Walton County (hereinafter "Board of Directors").

WHEREAS, on January 7, 2020, the Board of Commissioners enacted a resolution amending the 2001 Resolution so as to modify the method of appointment of members of the Board of Directors (hereinafter "2020 Resolution"); and

WHEREAS the Board of Commissioners desires to further amend the 2001 Resolution so as to provide that the Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of Walton County shall be an *ex officio* member of the Board of Directors and to clarify the *ex officio* membership on the Board of Directors of the mayors of the cities of Monroe, Social Circle and Loganville;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED by the Board of Commissioners of Walton County as follows:

1. **Paragraph "b" of 2001 Resolution Modified**. The 2001 Resolution is hereby amended so as to modify Paragraph "b" thereof to read as follows:

"The Board of Commissioners of Walton County shall appoint the mayors of the City of Monroe, the City of Social Circle, and the City of Loganville as *ex officio* members of the Board of Directors of the Development Authority of Walton County (hereinafter "Authority") during their terms in office; and if for any reason such a mayor shall be ineligible or shall decline to serve in such capacity, the Board of Commissioners may appoint a member of that city council to the Board of Directors in lieu of such mayor."

2. **Paragraph "d" of 2001 Resolution Modified**. The 2001 Resolution is hereby amended so as to modify Paragraph "d" thereof to read as follows:

"The Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of Walton County shall be appointed as an *ex officio* member of the Board of Directors of the Authority during his term in office. Should the Chairman of the Board of Commissioners be

ineligible or decline to serve in said position, the other members of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint one of the members of the Board of Commissioners to fill said position instead of the Chairman during the Chairman's term of office."

<u> </u>	olution, as modified by 2020 Resolution, to the 2001 Resolution, as modified by the 2020
	effect except to the extent that the same are
-	
SO RESOLVED thisday of	
	BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF WALTON COUNTY
	D :1 TI
	David Thompson, Chairman
ATTEST:	
Rhonda Hawk, Walton County Clerk	