The Walton County Board of Commissioners held a special called meeting on Tuesday, November 8, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. at the Historic Walton County Courthouse. Those participating in the meeting included Chairman David Thompson, Commissioners Bo Warren, Mark Banks, Timmy Shelnutt, Lee Bradford, Jeremy Adams and Kirklyn Dixon, County Clerk Rhonda Hawk, County Manager John Ward and County Attorney Chip Ferguson. A list of employees and citizens in attendance at the meeting is on file in the auxiliary file under this meeting date.

MEETING OPENING

Chairman Thompson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Commissioner Shelnutt gave the invocation.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion: Commissioner Adams made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Shelnutt to adopt the agenda. All voted in favor.

DISCUSSION

Local Option Sales Tax Mediation Report and possible action

Chairman Thompson presented an update on the Local Option Sales Tax mediation with the Cities of Monroe, Loganville, Social Circle and Walnut Grove. The Chairman presented a review of the Local Option Sales Tax which must be renewed before December 31, 2022 or it will expire. After several meetings and mediation, the County has been unable to negotiate a fair and equitable distribution. The Chairman stated he was standing strong for Walton County because he took an oath to protect the welfare and best interest of the entire County and not just the Cities and that the County is following the criteria set forth by the General Assembly. He further stated, it is time to take a stand for the County. The following spoke on behalf of their city: City Manager Danny Roberts, City of Loganville, City Manager Eric Taylor, City of Social Circle, Mayor of Walnut Grove Mark Moore and City Councilman Bill Duvall, City of Loganville.

Motion: Chairman Thompson made a motion to offer of a flat distribution, 72% County, 28% Cities or a progressive scale for years 1 and 2 – 69% County, 31% Cities, years 3 and 4 – 70% County, 30% Cities, years 5 and 6 – 72% County, 28% Cities and years 7 through 10 – 74% County, 26% Cities. Commissioner Banks seconded the motion. Chairman Thompson, Commissioners Warren, Banks, Shelnutt and Adams voted in favor. Commissioners Bradford and Dixon opposed the motion. The motion carried 5-2.

Motion: Commissioner Warren made a motion to give the Chairman the authority to sign the Georgia Department of Revenue form should the Cities agree. Commissioner Adams seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: Commissioner Adams made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dixon, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried and the meeting was adjourned at 6:51 p.m.

All documents of record for this meeting are on file in either the addendum book or auxiliary file under this meeting date.

DAVID G. THOMPSON, CHAIRMAN

RHONDA HAWK, COUNTY CLERK