	Renton Region Fire Authority	West Benton Fire & Rescue	North Mason Regional Fire Authority	Puget Sound Regional Fire Authority (formerly Kent RFA)	Southeast Thurston Fire Authority
Original Member Agencies	City of Renton, King County FPD #25	City of Prosser, Benton County FD#3	Mason County FD #2 & FD #8	City of Kent, King County FPD #37	City of Yelm, Thurston County FPD #2 & #4
Year Est.	2015	2015	2014	2010	2010
Board Composition	 Total: 6 + 1 non-voting 3 Renton City Councilmembers 3 FD 25 Commissioners 1 non-voting member from KCFD #40. 	 Total: 5 (4 districted seats + 1 at-large) Originally: 2 districted seats from within Prosser city limits 2 districted seats from FD #3 territory 1 at large. Now: Two formal districts established; anyone living in those 2 districts can run for office (2 seats per district), plus one at-large commissioner 	Initially: 8 appointed members, reducing to 5 over 18 months. • All 3 FD #8 commissioners • All 5 FD#2 commissioners. Planned reduction to 5 members accomplished through vacancies. Now: 5 members elected at large.	 Total: 6 + 3 non-voting: 3 Kent City Councilmembers 3 Fire District 37 Commissioners 1 non-voting from Covington 1 non-voting from SeaTac 1 non-voting from FD #43 (Maple Valley) 	Total: 6 Originally: • 2 from Yelm • 2 from FD#2 • 2 From FD #4 Now: 3 districts; 2 members elected from each district.

Matrix Comparing Governance Structures in Regional Fire Authorities (April 2021)

	West Thurston Regional Fire Authority	South Whatcom Fire Authority	Riverside Fire Authority	Valley Regional Fire Authority	North County Regional Fire Authority
Original Member Agencies	Thurston County FPD #1 & FPD #11	Whatcom County FPD #2, #6, #9, & #10	Cities of Centralia, Lewis County FD #12	Cities of Algona, Auburn, Pacific	Snohomish County FPD #14 & #18, Stanwood and Arlington
Year Est.	2009	2009	2008	2007	2007
Board Composition	 Total: 6 3 from FPD#1 3 from FPD #11 Has a mechanism to reduce to 5 elected (not appointed) positions: 2 districted from each former FD service area + 1 at large from the RFA area This has not been implemented. 	Total: 5 1 member each elected from 5 distinct districts	Total: 5 Members elected at large.	Total: 9 • Auburn Mayor + 2 Auburn Councilmembers • Algona Mayor + 2 Algona Councilmembers • Pacific Mayor + 2 Pacific Councilmembers	Total: 9 3 Districted 3 at-large 3 from Arlington Initially created with 2 fire districts: all 3 commissioners from each district on the board. Districts were later dissolved. Stanwood annexed in 2019; 1 board seat added. Arlington annexed in 2021 and 3 city councilmembers joined the board; they will transition to directly elected positions in 2 years and the board will shrink to 7 members over the next several years.

	South Beach Regional Fire Authority	South Snohomish County RFA	Marysville Regional Fire Authority
Original Member Agencies	City of Westport, Pacific County FPD No. 5, and Grays Harbor County FPDs No. 3, 11, and 14	City of Lynnwood and Fire District 1	City of Marysville and Fire District 12
Year Est.	October 2017	October 1, 2017	October 1, 2019
Board Composition	5 Districted members, One from the City and one from each of the four participating fire districts.	 Initial transition board: 5 Fire District Commissioners 2 City Councilmembers (or Mayor). This reflects the proportional population of the 2 agencies. Permanent board: 5 districted positions (elected in primary by persons living in those districts. 2 districts encompassing Lynnwood; 2 at-large positions.) Districted positions first elected in 2019; at-large positions in 2021. 	 6 members: 4 City council members 2 of the 3 District 12 members (one of the 2 members is a non-voting seat)