Proclamation

- *Whereas,* bicycling is one of the most energy-efficient forms of transportation ever invented, and is a mode of transportation well suited to urban environments where trips are short in length; and overly congested roads are difficult and costly to expand; and
- **Whereas,** transportation accounts for about a third of the energy used in Washington State, and about half of carbon dioxide emissions from fossil fuel; which add to the problem of climate change; and
- *Whereas,* bicycle commuting reduces energy consumption, pollution, and congestion; and
- *Whereas,* bicycling makes people healthier, more productive, and prevents chronic diseases through physical activity; and supports physical, emotional and mental well-being; and
- **Whereas,** the national non-profit bicycling safety and education association, the League of American Bicyclists, has declared the month of May to be national bike month for each of the last sixty-seven (67) years, and has done so again in 2024, and
- *Whereas,* the City of Tenino supports alternatives to inefficient drive-alone trips, particularly for travel around the City, by building bicycle facilities; and
- **Whereas,** Intercity Transit, with sponsors including many local businesses is hosting the 37<sup>th</sup> Annual Bicycle Community Challenge during the month of May 2024.

NOW THEREFORE, we, the Council of the City of Tenino, Washington, do hereby declare

May 2024 Bicycle Month

in the City of Tenino, and in recognition of Earth Day, National Bike Month, and Clean Air Month, we encourage all citizens to put forth their best effort to reduce single-occupant motor vehicle trips to reduce air pollution, energy consumption and congestion.

*IN WITNESS WHEREOF*, we have hereunto set our hands and caused the Great Seal of the City of Tenino to be affixed at the City Hall, this 23<sup>rd</sup> day of April, in the year, two thousand and twenty-four.

Dave Watterson, Mayor

Elain Klamn, Council Member

John O'Callahan, Council Member

Linda Gotovac, Mayor Pro-Tem

Jason Lawton, Council Member

Jeff Eisel, Council Member