

REQUEST FOR COUNCIL ACTION

Title: Request for Council Action – Appointment to Boards and

Committees

Preferred Agenda: June 27, 2023

Submitted By: Julie Fisher, Administrative Services Manager

Reviewed By: Kelcey Young, City Manager

Type of Action: Resolution ____ Motion _x__ Roll Call ____ Other ____

Relevant Code/Policy: SHMC Chapter 2.10 City Committees

Towards Council Goal: Vision Statement II. WE ASPIRE to have an effective and

efficient local government

Attachments: Applications for Boards and Committees

Purpose of this RCA:

Appointment to the Traffic Safety Committee

Background/Context:

There are seven vacancies on the Traffic Safety Committee. As per Charter, two of those appointments can be outside of City limits, but within the SHSD boundaries. Five applications were received for this committee. The Administration, Finance, and Property committee held two meetings to interview candidates. Their recommendation for appointment is based upon those interviews.

The Challenge/Problem:

Vacancies on Boards and Committees

Stakeholders:

- <u>City of Sweet Home Staff</u> Staff benefits by having full committees that provide direction and recommendations that are consistent with law.
- <u>City of Sweet Home Management</u> Management is more effective and efficient with clear, updated, best practices for policy as recommended by committees.
- <u>Sweet Home Residents</u> Residents and taxpayers essentially pay the price when policies lead to inefficient operations or practices.

Issues and Financial Impacts:

None known

Elements of a Stable Solution:

Appoint committee members to vacancies who are willing to serve a full term and available for scheduled meetings of the committee.

Options:

- 1. Option #1 Do Nothing
- 2. Option #2 Seek additional applicants
- 3. Option #3 Make a motion to appoint Bonnie Neal, Bud Mather, Frank Gallagher, Vince Adams and Ryan Paul to the Traffic Safety Committee.

Recommendation:

1. <u>Staff recommends Option #3</u> – Make a motion to appoint Bonnie Neal, Bud Mather, Frank Gallagher, Vince Adams and Ryan Paul to the Traffic Safety Committee.