## RESOLUTION 2011-R8 A RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING THE SWANSBORO TOURISM DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

Section 2. Membership. The Swansboro Tourism Development Authority shall consist of six members, who shall be appointed by the Swansboro Board of Commissioners for a term of two years each that shall coincide with the calendar year; provided, however, that the initial appointments to the authority shall be for a term of 28 months, beginning September 1, 2011. The members shall serve at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners, and any vacancies on the authority shall be filled by appointment of the Board of Commissioners. At least half of the members of the authority shall be persons who are active in the promotion of travel and tourism in the town, and at least one third of the members shall be persons who are affiliated with businesses that collect the room occupancy tax. Individual members may, if qualified, serve in- and fulfill the representation requirements for more than one category, and the Town officials shall be regarded as being active in the promotion of travel and tourism, so long as the Town appropriates funds in support of these purposes. The remaining member or members of the authority shall be appointed at the sole discretion of the Board of Commissioners and may include members of the town governing board or town administration. The Board of Commissioners shall designate the member of the authority who shall serve — at its pleasure — as the chair of the authority and shall determine the compensation, if any, to be paid to the members of the authority.