## ST. TAMMANY PARISH COUNCIL

## RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION COUNCIL SERIES NO	
COUNCIL SPONSOR: MR. COUGLE	PROVIDED BY: <u>CIVIL DA</u>

RESOLUTION TO APPOINT MEMBERS OF THE ST. TAMMANY PARISH LIBRARY BOARD OF CONTROL PURSUANT TO STAGGERED TERMS AS REQUIRED BY LA. R.S. 25:214(B)

WHEREAS, the St. Tammany Parish Code of Ordinances, Chapter 34; Public Library, Sec. 34-2, establishes that the public library shall be governed by a Board of Control with six members nominated and appointed by the Parish Council;

WHEREAS, pursuant to La. R.S. 25:214(B), the Parish Council shall, in creating a public library, appoint a Board of Control for such public library to serve for terms of one, two, three, four, and five years, the successors of whom shall be appointed for a term of five years;

WHEREAS, in Resolution Council Series No. C-6634, Dr. Argiro Morgan, Ann Shaw, Carmen Butler, Rebecca Taylor, and Mary Reneau were appointed on July 7, 2022, to the Library Board of Control "LBOC" for a five-year term expiring on July 12, 2027;

WHEREAS, Dr. Argiro Morgan resigned and that vacancy was filled pursuant to Resolution Council Series No. C-6778, wherein Anthony Parr was appointed on June 1, 2023, to the LBOC for a five-year term expiring on July 12, 2027;

WHEREAS, in Resolution Council Series No. C-6779, Bill McHugh was appointed on June 1, 2023, to the LBOC for a five-year term expiring on August 4, 2027, thereby filling the vacant seat left by Susie Tosso who resigned on January 13, 2023;

WHEREAS, Mary Reneau resigned on July 17, 2023, and that seat remains vacant;

WHEREAS, research has shown that LBOC appointments have not been staggered as required by La. R.S. 25:214(B) for possibly over twenty years; it appears that once the original staggered terms expired, at some point subsequent appointments were not carried out in accordance with the mandatory procedures set forth in La. R.S. 25:214(B) and the current terms of the LBOC do not expire each separate year over a five-year basis;

WHEREAS, various other parish boards and commissions are also required by state law to have staggered terms and the St. Tammany Parish Council is working towards reviewing every board and commission to make sure their terms are properly staggered where required by state law;

WHEREAS, pursuant to La. Atty. Gen. Op. No. 02-0002, when an incumbent holds office beyond the expiration of his or her term, it does not affect the term of office, but merely shortens the tenure of his or her successor;

WHEREAS, the resulting appointments should be treated as appointments to serve unexpired terms pursuant to La. Atty. Gen. Op. No. 23-009;

WHEREAS, pursuant to La. Atty. Gen. Op. No. 11-0016, the Parish Council must make six appointments to staggered terms of varying lengths in accordance with La. R.S. 25:214(B) and until the new appointments are made, the incumbent members of the LBOC will continue to serve;

WHEREAS, in consideration of La. Atty. Gen. Op. No. 98-171, vacancies exist in all six LBOC positions which are appointed by the Parish Council;

RESOLUTION CALENDAR NUMBER	BER:
	PAGE 2 OF 2

WHEREAS, vacancies caused by the expiration of the original staggered terms of the LBOC must be filled in accordance with La. R.S. 25:214(B); and

WHEREAS, the Parish Council, in its March 7, 2024 regular meeting, called for nominations to fill the six vacant seats of the LBOC.

THE PARISH OF ST. TAMMANY HEREBY RESOLVES that the following individuals are hereby appointed to serve thereon with a term of office as follows:

APPOINTEE	TERM EXPIRES
Seat A -	April 7, 2025
Seat B -	April 7, 2026
Seat C -	April 7, 2027
Seat D -	April 7, 2028
Seat E -	April 7, 2029
Seat F -	April 7, 2025

THIS RESOLUTION HAVING BEEN SUBMITTED T FOLLOWS:	O A VOTE, THE VOTE THEREON WAS AS
MOVED FOR ADOPTION BY:,	SECONDED BY:
WHEREUPON THIS RESOLUTION WAS SUBMITT FOLLOWING:	TED TO A VOTE AND RESULTED IN THE
YEAS:	
NAYS:	
ABSTAIN:	
ABSENT:	
THIS RESOLUTION WAS DECLARED ADOPTED A ON THE DAY OF, 2024; A QUORUM (	T A REGULAR MEETING OF THE PARISH COUNCIL OF THE MEMBERS BEING PRESENT AND VOTING.
	ARTHUR LAUGLIN, COUNCIL CHAIRMAN
ATTEST:	
KATRINA L. BUCKLEY, COUNCIL CLERK	