

City Hall Council Chambers, 298 West Washington Street Tuesday, May 14, 2024 at 5:30 PM

MINUTES

The City Council of the City of Stephenville, Texas, convened on Tuesday, May 14, 2024, in the City Hall Council Chambers, 298 West Washington Street, for the purpose of a Special City Council Meeting, with the meeting being open to the public and notice of said meeting, giving the date, time, place and subject thereof, having been posted as prescribed by Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated, with the following members present, to wit:

<u>COUNCIL PRESENT:</u>	Mayor Doug Svien
	Council Member LeAnn Durfey
	Council Member Lonn Reisman
	Council Member Maddie Smith
	Council Member David Baskett
	Council Member Brandon Greenhaw

 COUNCIL ABSENT:
 Council Member Justin Haschke

 Council Member Bob Newby
 Council Member Mark McClinton

OTHERS ATTENDING:Randy Thomas, City AttorneySarah Lockenour, City SecretaryDarrell Brown, Director of Administrative Services

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Svien called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM.

REGULAR AGENDA

- Comments from Outgoing Council Members
 No comments were given at this time.
- 2. Canvass Results of the May 4, 2024 General Election

Mayor Svien appointed Lonn Reisman - Chair, LeAnn Durfey, and Maddie Smith to the Canvassing Committee. He recessed the open meeting at 5:30 PM for the Committee to step out to canvass the results from the City's Election held on Saturday, May 4, 2024. The meeting was reconvened at 5:35 PM.

Canvassing Committee Chair Lonn Reisman read the results of the May 7, 2024 General Election Canvass as follows:

Mayor, Doug Svien – 624 votes City Council Place 2, Gerald Cook – 596 votes City Council Place 4, Dean Parr – 458 votes City Council Place 6, David Baskett – 594 votes City Council Place 8, Alan Nix – 549 votes

2. Consider Approval of a Resolution Canvassing the Returns and Declaring the Results of the May 4, 2024 General Election

MOTION by Lonn Reisman, second by LeAnn Durfey, to approve Resolution No. 2024-R-08 canvassing the returns and declaring the results of the May 4, 2024 General Election. MOTION CARRIED unanimously.

3. Administer Oaths of Office to Newly Elected Council Members

City Secretary Sarah Lockenour administered the Oaths of Office to the following newly elected Council Members:

Mayor, Doug Svien

City Council Place 4, Dean Parr

City Council Place 6, David Baskett

City Council Place 8, Alan Nix

4. Comments from Newly Elected Council Members

Comments were received from the following newly elected Council Members:

City Council Place 4, Dean Parr

City Council Place 8, Alan Nix

5. Election of Mayor Pro-Tem

MOTION by Maddie Smith, second by Brandon Greenhaw, to elect David Baskett as Mayor Pro-Tem. MOTION CARRIED unanimously.

ADJOURN

Mayor Svien adjourned the Special City Council Meeting at 6:02 PM.

ATTEST:

Doug Svien, Mayor

Sarah Lockenour, City Secretary