

# SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING

City Hall Council Chambers, 298 West Washington Street Tuesday, May 16, 2023 at 5:30 PM

## MINUTES

The City Council of the City of Stephenville, Texas, convened on May 16, 2023, at 5:30 PM, City Hall Council Chambers, 298 West Washington Street, for the purpose of a Special City Council Meeting, with the meeting being open to the public and notice of said meeting, giving the date, time, place and subject thereof, having been posted as prescribed by Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated, with the following members present, to wit:

<u>COUNCIL PRESENT:</u>	Mayor Doug Svien Council Member LeAnn Durfey Council Member Bob Newby Council Member Ricky Thurman Council Member David Baskett Council Member Gerald Cook Council Member Mark McClinton
COUNCIL ABSENT:	Council Member Justin Haschke Council Member Lonn Reisman
OTHERS ATTENDING:	Jason M. King, City Manager Randy Thomas, City Attorney Sarah Lockenour, City Secretary

#### CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Svien called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM.

#### CITIZENS GENERAL DISCUSSION

Erath County Judge Brandon Huckabee addressed the Council. Judge Huckabee expressed his gratitude to the full Council and specifically outgoing Council Members Ricky Thurman and Gerald Cook. He congratulated the returned Council Members LeAnn Durfey and Lonn Reisman and welcomed the new Council Members Maddie Smith and Brandon Greenhaw.

#### EXECUTIVE SESSION

The executive session took place in the open meeting.

In compliance with the provisions of the Texas Open Meetings Law, Subchapter D, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes, Annotated, in accordance with

9. Section 551.071 Consultation with Attorney - to Consult Over a Pending or Contemplated Litigation

ACTION TAKEN ON ITEMS DISCUSSED IN EXECUTIVE SESSION, IF NECESSARY

MOTION by Ricky Thurman, second by Bob Newby, to enter into agreement with Circle X as discussed in executive session on May 2, 2023. MOTION CARRIED unanimously.

#### **REGULAR AGENDA**

#### 1. Consider Approval of Professional Services for Annual Firefighter Wellness Physicals

Stephenville Fire Department Chief Robert Isbell presented this item to Council.

The Stephenville Fire Department seeks approval for firefighter wellness physicals. The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (TCFP) mandates that agencies must assess the wellness and fitness needs of the personnel in the department (Texas commission on Fire Protection rule 435.21). In line with this mandate, SFD has updated our policy regarding this rule and propose the use of Front Line Mobile Health to provide our annual assessments.

Although this service is a "professional service", we sought informal bids from other companies known for this specific work and Front Line Mobile Health offered a more comprehensive and firefighter centric testing. Many of the tests performed are not available with other providers.

The cost of the medical/physicals are \$820 per person for a total of \$28,700. This project was budgeted in the 2022-23 budget.

MOTION by Mark McClinton, second by Bob Newby, to approve the Professional Services for Annual Firefighter Wellness Physicals as presented. MOTION CARRIED unanimously.

#### 2. Comments from Outgoing Council Members

Comments were received from the following outgoing Council Members:

Council Member Ricky Thurman

Council Member Gerald Cook

#### 3. Canvass Results of the May 6, 2023 General Election

Mayor Svien appointed Bob Newby, David Baskett, and Mark McClinton to the Canvassing Committee. He recessed the open meeting at 5:48 PM for the Committee to step out to canvass the results from the City's Election held on Saturday, May 6, 2023. The meeting was reconvened at 5:51 PM.

Canvassing Committee Chair Bob Newby read the results of the May 6, 2023 General Election Canvass as follows:

Absentee: Mail Ballots Received: 20 Mail Ballots Rejected by Ballot Board: 3 Mail Ballot Canceled by Voter:1 Absentee Ballots Accepted by Ballot Board: 16 Total Absentee Ballots Tabulated: 16 In Person - Early Voting Roster: 578 In Person – Early Voting Ballots Tabulated:576 In-Person Election Day Roster: 294 In-Person Election Day Ballot Tabulated: 294

Total Votes Cast: 886

Committee Member Mark McClinton read the May 6, 2023 General Election Results as follows:

City Council Place 1		City Council Place 3	
LeAnn Durfey	676	Lonn Reisman	690
City Council Place 5		City Council Place 7	
Maddie Smith	592	Brandon Greenhaw	685
Justin Slawson	284		

4. Consider Approval of a Resolution Canvassing the Returns and Declaring the Results of the May 6, 2023 General Election

MOTION by Bob Newby, second by Mark McClinton, to approve Resolution No. 2023-R-07 canvassing the returns and declaring the results of the May 6, 2023 General Election. MOTION CARRIED unanimously.

### 5. Administer Oaths of Office to Newly Elected Council Members

City Secretary Sarah Lockenour administered the Oaths of Office to the following newly elected Council Members:

Council Member LeAnn Durfey

Council Member Maddie Smith

Council Member Brandon Greenhaw

## 6. Comments from Newly Elected Council Members

Comments were received from the following newly elected Council Members:

Council Member LeAnn Durfey

Council Member Maddie Smith

Council Member Brandon Greenhaw

## 7. Consider Approval of Appointments to Council Committees

MOTION by David Baskett, second by Mark McClinton, to make the following appointments. MOTION CARRIED unanimously.

**Finance Committee:** Justin Haschke, chair; David Baskett, Brandon Greenhaw, Mark McClinton **Parks and Leisure Services Committee**: Lonn Reisman, chair; Bob Newby, David Baskett, Brandon Greenhaw

Personnel Committee: Brandon Greenhaw, chair; Justin Haschke, Maddie Smith, Mark McClinton Development Services Committee: David Baskett, chair; LeAnn Durfey, Justin Haschke, Mark McClinton Public Health and Safety Committee: Bob Newby, chair; LeAnn Durfey, Lonn Reisman, Maddie Smith Nominations Committee: Maddie Smith, chair; Lonn Reisman, Bob Newby, Brandon Greenhaw Public Works Committee: Mark McClinton, chair; LeAnn Durfey, Justin Haschke, David Baskett Tourism and Visitors Bureau Committee: LeAnn Durfey, chair; Lonn Reisman, Bob Newby, Maddie Smith

## 8. Election of Mayor Pro-Tem

MOTION by David Baskett, second by LeAnn Durfey, to elect Mark McClinton as Mayor Pro-Tem. MOTION CARRIED unanimously.

#### ADJOURN

Mayor Svien adjourned the Special City Council Meeting at 6:02 PM.

Note: The Stephenville City Council may convene into Executive Session on any matter related to any of the above agenda items for a purpose, such closed session allowed under Chapter 551, Texas Government Code.

ATTEST:

Doug Svien, Mayor

Sarah Lockenour, City Secretary