

CITY COUNCIL REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

City Hall - 10769 W State Street, Star, Idaho Tuesday, January 02, 2024 at 7:00 PM

1. CALL TO ORDER – Welcome/Pledge of Allegiance

Mayor Chadwick called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

2. INVOCATION – Bishop Daniel Bitter, 5th Ward of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Bishop Bitter led the invocation.

3. ROLL CALL

Elected Officials: David Hershey, Kevan Wheelock, Trevor Chadwick, Jennifer Salmonsen, Kevin Neilsen.

Staff: City Clerk – Treasurer Jacob M Qualls, Assistant City Planner Ryan Field, Public Information Officer Dana Partridge, City Engineer Ryan Morgan, Polie Chief Zach Hessing, Sergeant Steele, Deputy Brashears, Planning & Zoning Administrator Shawn Nickel and City Attorney Chris Yorgason (remotely).

4. PRESENTATIONS

No presentations.

5. CONSENT AGENDA (ACTION ITEM)

A. Approval of Minutes: December 19, 2023

B. Approval of Claims

 Council Member Salmonsen moved to approve the consent agenda; Council Member Hershey seconded the motion. ROLL CALL VOTE: Hershey – aye; Wheelock – aye; Salmonsen – aye; Neilsen – aye. Motion carried.

6. ACTION ITEMS:

A. Sine' Die (Adjournment of Current City Council)

Mayor called Sine' Die at 7:03pm

B. Swearing in of Newly / Re-Elected City Officials

City Clerk -Treasurer Qualls swore in Trevor A Chadwick as Mayor of Star and he signed the Oath of Office. Mayor Chadwick then swore in Kevin Nielsen and Jennifer Salmonsen to the Star City Council. They both signed the Oath of Office.

Mayor Chadwick, Council Member Neilsen and Salmonsen all thanked the community for re-electing them to new terms of office and expressed appreciation to their families, staff and community for the support over the last terms of office.

JMQ Page 1 of 2

CITY OF STAR, IDAHO



CITY COUNCIL REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

City Hall - 10769 W State Street, Star, Idaho Tuesday, January 02, 2024 at 7:00 PM

C. Roll Call - New City Council & Mayor

Elected Officials: Mayor Trevor A Chadwick, Council Members: David Hershey, Kevan Wheelock, Jennifer Salmonsen, Kevin Neilsen.

D. City Council President Election

• Council Member Wheelock moved to nominate David Hershey as City Council President; City Council Member Nielsen seconded the motion. ROLL CALL VOTE: Neilsen – aye; Salmonsen – aye; Neilsen – aye; Wheelock – aye; Hershey – aye. Motion carried.

7. ADJOURNMENT

| Mayor Chadwick adjourned the m | neeting at 7:14 p.m. |
|--------------------------------|----------------------------------------|
| | |
| | |
| | ATTEST: |
| Trevor A. Chadwick. Mavor | Jacob M Qualls. City Clerk - Treasurer |

JMQ Page 2 of 2