### **Daniel Buchholtz**

From: Alex Lee <alex.lee@ewald.com>
Sent: Friday, December 6, 2024 11:19 AM

To: Daniel Buchholtz

**Subject:** Ewald at the Capitol: State Budget Outlook

This message was sent from outside of the organization. Please do not click links or open attachments unless you recognize the source of this email and know the content is safe.



# **STATE BUDGET OUTLOOK**

On Wednesday, Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) released the state budget forecast, showing a mixed picture of the state's financial outlook. The forecast indicates a \$616 million surplus for the FY26-27 biennium, which is far less than anticipated. MMB also forecasts a structural imbalance ranging from \$3.5 billion to \$5.1 billion for the FY28-29 biennium, causing concerns about the state's future financial stability.

For more information on the budget, you can read the entire forecast <u>here</u> as well as the <u>presentation</u> documents.

### **HOUSE COMMITTEE UPDATE**

With the 67-67 tie in the House, much is still unknown about how power-sharing will work in the next legislative session. However, co-leaders Rep. Melissa Hortman and Rep. Lisa Demuth have agreed to a committee structure and appointed committee chairs. Under this agreement, committees will be chaired by DFL and Republican co-chairs and committee membership will be equally divided. Committee chairs were recently named, but committee membership is not yet determined.

- Agriculture Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Paul Anderson</u> (R-Starbuck) and <u>Rep. Rick Hansen</u> (DFL-South St. Paul)
- Capital Investment: Rep. Mary Franson (R-Alexandria) and Rep. Fue Lee (DFL-Minneapolis)
- Children and Families Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn</u> (DFL-Eden Prairie) and <u>Rep. Nolan West</u> (R-Blaine)
- Commerce Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Kaohly Vang Her</u> (DFL-St. Paul) and <u>Rep. Tim O'Driscoll</u> (R-Sartell)
- Education Finance: <u>Rep. Ron Kresha</u> (R-Little Falls) and <u>Rep. Cheryl Youakim</u> (DFL-Hopkins)
- Education Policy: <u>Rep. Peggy Bennett</u> (R-Albert Lea) and <u>Rep. Sydney Jordan</u> (DFL-Minneapolis)
- Elections Finance and Government Operations: Rep. Mike Freiberg (DFL-Golden Valley) and Rep. Duane Quam (R-Byron)
- Energy Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Patty Acomb</u> (DFL-Minnetonka) and <u>Rep. Chris Swedzinski</u> (R-Ghent)
- Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Peter Fischer</u> (DFL-Maplewood) and <u>Rep. Josh Heintzeman</u> (R-Nisswa)
- Ethics: Rep. Greg Davids (R-Preston) and Rep. Kelly Moller (DFL-Shoreview)
- Health Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Jeff Backer</u> (R-Browns Valley) and <u>Rep. Robert Bierman</u> (DFL-Apple Valley)
- Higher Education Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Marion Rarick</u> (R-Maple Lake) and <u>Rep. Dan Wolgamott</u> (DFL-St. Cloud)
- Housing Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Michael Howard</u> (DFL-Richfield) and <u>Rep. Spencer Igo</u> (R-Wabana Township)
- Human Services Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Mohamud Noor</u> (DFL-Mpls) and <u>Rep. Joe Schomacker</u> (R-Luverne)
- Judiciary Finance and Civil Law: <u>Rep. Tina Liebling</u> (DFL-Rochester) and <u>Rep. Peggy Scott</u> (R-Andover)
- Labor and Workforce Development Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Dave Baker</u> (R-Willmar) and <u>Rep. Dave Pinto</u> (DFL-St. Paul)
- Legacy Finance: <u>Rep. Joe McDonald</u> (R-Delano) and <u>Rep. Samantha Vang</u> (DFL-Brooklyn Center)
- Public Safety Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Kelly Moller</u> (DFL-Shoreview) and <u>Rep. Paul Novotny</u> (R-Elk River)
- Rules and Legislative Administration: Rep. Jamie Long (DFL-Minneapolis) and Rep. Harry Niska (R-Ramsey)
- State Government Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Ginny Klevorn</u> (DFL-Plymouth) and <u>Rep. Jim Nash</u> (R-Waconia)

- Veterans and Military Affairs Division: <u>Rep. Matt Bliss</u> (R-Pennington) and <u>Rep. Jay</u>
   Xiong (DFL-St. Paul)
- Taxes: Rep. Greg Davids (R-Preston) and Rep. Aisha Gomez (DFL-Minneapolis)
- Transportation Finance and Policy: <u>Rep. Erin Koegel</u> (DFL-Spring Lake Park) and <u>Rep. Jon Koznick</u> (R-Lakeville)
- Ways and Means: <u>Rep. Zack Stephenson</u> (DFL-Coon Rapids) and <u>Rep. Paul Torkelson</u> (R-Hanska)
- Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement: Rep. Leon Lillie (DFL-North St. Paul) and Rep. Tim O'Driscoll (R-Sartell)

## **HELPFUL RESOURCES**

A few helpful links to follow the election and other action at the State Capitol:

To find your legislators, visit <a href="Who Represents Me">Who Represents Me</a>

To view the election results, visit <a href="The Secretary of State">The Secretary of State</a>'s <a href="Website">Website</a>

**CONNECT WITH US** 







Sent to: dbuchholtz@slpmn.org

#### **Unsubscribe**

Ewald Consulting Inc., 1601 Utica Ave. S., Suite 213, Minneapolis, MN 55416, United States