

AGENDA ITEM SUMMARY

MEETING DATE: December 5, 2023

ITEM TITLE: Organization of Council and 2024 Meetings

ITEM SUMMARY: Organization of Council and 2024 Meetings

After each election the newly elected (or re-elected) members must qualify for office by taking and subscribing the oath of office. In addition, the governing board must organize itself. The meeting at which these events take place is known as the organizational meeting.

Election of Mayor Pro Tempore: 160A-70. Mayor pro tempore; disability of mayor.

At the organizational meeting, the council shall elect from among its members a mayor pro tempore to serve at the pleasure of the council. A councilman serving as mayor pro tempore shall be entitled to vote on all matters and shall be considered a councilman for all purposes, including the determination of whether a quorum is present. During the absence of the mayor, the council may confer upon the mayor pro tempore any of the powers and duties of the mayor. If the mayor should become physically or mentally incapable of performing the duties of his office, the council may by unanimous vote declare that he is incapacitated and confer any of his powers and duties on the mayor pro tempore. Upon the mayor's declaration that he is no longer incapacitated, and with the concurrence of a majority of the council, the mayor shall resume the exercise of his powers and duties. In the event both the mayor and the mayor pro tempore are absent from a meeting, the council may elect from its members a temporary chairman to preside in such absence.

County & Regional Council Committee Appointments

<u>Dare County Gov-Ed Access Channel Committee:</u> CURRENTtv is a collaboration to provide quality informational programming through two channels, the CURRENTtv Government and the CURRENT TV-Education. It is supported by the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Manteo, as well as Dare County Government, Dare County Schools, UNC Coastal Studies Institute and College of The Albemarle.

The channels are operated by the Government Education Access Channels Committee, which is composed of a representative from each participating entity.

Interlocal Shared Use Agreement Among Participating Agencies & Amendment

<u>Albemarle Rural Planning Organization (ARPO)</u>: The Albemarle Rural Planning Organization (ARPO) serves Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington counties.

Rural Planning Organizations were formed, by the North Carolina General Assembly, in order to involve rural county and municipal governments as well as the public in transportation issues in their regions.

Committees-The ARPO is made up of of RPO administrative staff and two Boards; the Rural Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC) and the Rural Transportation Coordinating Committee (RTCC).

The RTAC consists of one elected official from each County, one elected official from each municipality and NCDOT staff. The TAC is the policy making body of the RPO and is currently chaired by Pasquotank County Commissioner Lloyd Griffin.

The RTCC is made up of one planner or county manager from each county and one planner or municipal government manager from each municipality. The TCC is the advisory committee to the TAC. The TCC is currently chaired by Columbia Town Manager Rhett White

Transportation Planning in Rural Areas-The Albemarle Commission has served as the lead planning agency for the ARPO since May 2002. Since that time, the RPO has been working cooperatively with the NC Department of Transportation, local officials and citizens to enhance transportation planning opportunities for rural areas in the ten county region.

The ARPO is responsible for:

- Developing long-range transportation plans for the region
- Providing transportation-related data to local governments
- Developing and prioritizing projects for the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)
- Providing a forum for public involvement in the transportation planning process.
- Participating in the merger process.

<u>Tourism Board</u>: The Outer Banks Visitors Bureau is the lead marketing and promotional agency for the Outer Banks of North Carolina and is funded by one percent of the occupancy tax and one percent of the prepared meals tax collected in Dare County. The towns and other agencies represented on the Tourism Board submit recommendations for their appointments to the Board of Commissioners for final approval. One County Commissioner serves on the Board and there are two at-large seats for which applications are accepted.

Meeting Date: 3rd Thursday of each month at 9:00 a.m. Meeting Time: 9:00 AM Meeting Place: Outer Banks Visitors Bureau, 1 Visitors Center Circle, Manteo, NC <u>2024 Council Meeting Schedule-Resolution #2023-12-01</u> (Motion to adopt schedule required) § 143-318.12. Public notice of official meetings

§ 160A-71. Regular and special meetings; recessed and adjourned meetings; procedure.