## **CITY OF SHEBOYGAN**

# SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE MINUTES

## Monday, January 20, 2025

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Chair Rebecca Clarke, Mark Mahoney, Akshay Jain, Drew Phillips, James Van Akkeren, Lora Hagen, and Chris Kuehnel

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jeanne Kliejunas, Jennifer Rutten, Cheryl Sohn, and Fern Lomibao

**STAFF PRESENT:** Administrative Clerk Rachel Masse

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Belle Ragins and Roger Miller

#### **OPENING OF MEETING**

Call to Order

Chair Rebecca Clarke called the meeting to order at 4:36 PM.

Pledge of Allegiance

### **MINUTES**

2. Approval of Minutes: November 19, 2024

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES FOR NOVEMBER 19, 2024

Motion made by James Van Akkeren, seconded by Lora Hagen. Motion carried.

#### ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

3. Public Input (Limit 3 minutes per person)

Roger Miller spoke regarding the City of Sheboygan Planning Commission issuing an extension of a Conditional Use Permit to the Kohler Company. He asked the Task Force to advocate against this extension and urge the Board of Appeals to overturn this decision.

Belle Ragin also spoke in regard to the extension of the Conditional Use Permit and urged the Task Force to advocate against the City's current course of action.

4. Forestry Grant Update and Needs

James Van Akkeren spoke on his and Rebecca Clarke's meeting with City Forester Tim Bull regarding the IRA grant to help with tree planting in the City. Part of the grant required community input, which the Task Force has previously agreed to contribute to. Volunteers are requested to help with outreach starting with Sheboygan Area School District parent teacher conferences.

2025 Meeting Dates, Committee Members

Brief discussion on continuing to meet on the third Monday of each month.

6. Focus on Energy presentation

James Van Akkeren spoke on the Home Efficiency Rebates (HOMES) and Home Electrification and Appliance Rebate (HEAR) programs available through Focus on Energy, which can assist homeowners fund updates to their energy efficiency.

- 8. Committee Membership
- Vice Chair Position
  Motion to nominate James Van Akkeren for Vice Chair position.
  Motion made by James Van Akkeren, seconded by Drew Phillips. Motion carried.

# **NEXT MEETING DATE**

10. Next Meeting Date: February 17, 2025

## **ADJOURN**

11. Motion to Adjourn

Motion to adjourn at 5:49PM.

Motion made by James Van Akkeren. Seconded by Akshay Jain. Motion carried.