CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

FIRST REGULAR COMMON COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, April 15, 2025

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Roll Call

Alderpersons present: Belanger, Boorse, Close, Dekker, Heidemann, La Fave, Menzer, Mitchell, Perrella, Rust – 10.

- 2. Presentation of Colors by Police Honor Guard Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- **3. Invocation** Father William Bulson
- 4. Land Recognition Brett Labello, Sheboygan County Museum
- 5. Poet Laureate Lisa Vihos
- 6. Swearing in of Mayor Circuit Court Judge Natasha Torry administered the Oath of Office to Mayor Ryan James Sorenson
- 7. Swearing in of Alderpersons Elect City Clerk Meredith DeBruin administered the Oath of Office to Alderperson: District 1 Ryan Menzer, District 3 Michael Close, District 5 Susie Boorse, District 7 Grazia Perrella, District 9 Trey Mitchell

8. Adopting the rules of the Common Council

MOTION TO ADOPT Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Rust. Before action was taken, MOTION TO AMEND THE DOCUMENT SO AS TO ELIMINATE THE SECOND PARAGRAPH OF SECTION III BEGINNING WITH THE LANGUAGE, "Committees will meet the 2nd and 4th Mondays…" Motion made by Mitchell, Seconded by Heidemann. Voting Yea: Belanger, Heidemann, Menzer, Mitchell – 4. Voting Nay: Boorse, Close, Dekker, La Fave, Perrella, Rust – 6. Motion fails. MOTION TO REFER THE DOCUMENT TO COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE Motion made by Heidemann, Seconded by Belanger. Voting Yea: Belanger, Heidemann, Menzer, Mitchell – 4. Voting Yea: Belanger, Heidemann, Menzer, Mitchell – 4. VOTE ON ORIGINAL MOTION TO ADOPT THE RULES Voting Yea: Boorse, Close, Dekker, La Fave, Perrella, Rust – 6. Voting Nay: Belanger, Heidemann, Menzer, Mitchell – 4. Motion Passes.

9. Election of President and Vice-President of the Common Council

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Rust that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by CLOSED BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Rust nominated Dean Dekker, Perrella seconded the nomination.

Heidemann nominated Trey Mitchell, Belanger seconded the nomination.

Motion by Rust, seconded by La Fave to close nominations.

City Clerk DeBruin and City Administrator Bradley distributed ballots and tallied the votes.

Dean Dekker was named the President of the 2025-2026 Council.

ELECTION OF VICE PRESIDENT OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Rust that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by CLOSED BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.

Rust nominated Grazia Perrella, La Fave seconded the nomination.

Heidemann nominated John Belanger, Menzer seconded the nomination.

Motion by Dekker, seconded by Rust to close nominations.

City Clerk DeBruin and City Administrator Bradley distributed ballots and tallied the votes.

Grazia Perrella was named the Vice President of the 2025-2026 Council.

10. Election of Representative on City Plan Commission

Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Rust that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by OPEN BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority. Boorse nominated Michael Close, Rust seconded the nomination. Heidemann nominated John Belanger, Mitchell seconded the nomination. Motion by Dekker, seconded by Perrella to close nominations. City Clerk DeBruin and City Administrator Bradley distributed ballots. Voting Belanger: Belanger, Heidemann, Menzer, Mitchell. Voting Close: Boorse, Close, Dekker, La Fave, Perrella, Rust. Michael Close was named the Representative on City Plan Commission.

11. Recess to elect Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole

President Dean Dekker presided over the election for Chairman of the Committee of the Whole.

Motion by Perrella, second by Rust that nominations be received from the floor, voting to be done by OPEN BALLOT, and if more than two candidates are nominated, the candidate

with the lowest number of votes be dropped from the list, and balloting to continue until one candidate receives a majority.
Perrella nominated Zach Rust, La Fave seconded the nomination.
Belanger nominated Joe Heidemann, Menzer seconded the nomination.
Motion by Perrella, seconded by Rust to close nominations.
City Clerk DeBruin and City Administrator Bradley distributed ballots.
Voting Heidemann: Belanger, Heidemann, Menzer, Mitchell.
Voting Rust: Boorse, Close, Dekker, La Fave, Perrella, Rust.
Zach Rust was named the Chairperson for the Committee of the Whole.

12. Reconvene

13. Report by Council President on election of the Committee of the Whole Chairperson Dekker announced Zach Rust as the Committee of the Whole Chairperson

14. President of the Common Council message President Dean Dekker spoke.

15. Public Forum

Limit of five people having five minutes each with comments limited to items on this agenda. No one spoke.

16. Mayor's Announcements

Upcoming Community Events, Proclamations, Employee Recognitions

MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS

17. Mayoral Appointments – Lays over.

RESOLUTIONS

18. Res. No. 1-25-26 by Alderperson Dekker requesting the Mayor to reactivate various special committees for the 2025-2026 Council year.

MOTION TO ADOPT THE RESOLUTION Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Perrella. Voting Yea: Belanger, Boorse, Close, Dekker, Heidemann, La Fave, Menzer, Mitchell, Perrella, Rust – 10.

ADJOURN MEETING

19. Motion to Adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 7:04 PM Motion made by Dekker, Seconded by Perrella. Voting Yea: Belanger, Boorse, Close, Dekker, Heidemann, La Fave, Menzer, Mitchell, Perrella, Rust – 10.