## **CITY OF SHEBOYGAN**

## REQUEST FOR FINANCE & PERSONNEL COMMITTEE CONSIDERATION

**ITEM DESCRIPTION:** Gen. Ord. No. 20-22-23 by Alderpersons Mitchell and Felde reestablishing the salaries of Election officials.

REPORT PREPARED BY: Meredith DeBruin, City Clerk

**REPORT DATE:** 2-9-23 **MEETING DATE:** 2-13-23

### FISCAL SUMMARY: STATUTORY REFERENCE:

Budget Line Item: N/A Wisconsin 7.03

Budget Summary: N/A Statutes:

Budgeted Expenditure: N/A Municipal Code: N/A

Budgeted Revenue: N/A

#### **BACKGROUND / ANALYSIS:**

Wisconsin Statutes requires that a reasonable daily compensation be paid to each election official. Election officials are not allowed to leave the premises on Election day.

## **STAFF COMMENTS:**

The City of Sheboygan currently compensates Election Officials \$120.00/day and Co-Chairpersons \$145.00/day. In addition, \$10.00 is paid for attending instructional meetings, and \$10.00/hour for special nursing home deputies. Of the responses received from a survey of other Sheboygan County and similar municipalities, this salary amount is the lowest (see attachment). The previous increase to salaries was in 2018 and again in 2008.

Co-Chairpersons are officials in-charge of the polling location on election day, however they perform many duties outside of election hours including calling officials to staff their locations and attend training, remaining current in changing laws/policies, setting up their polling locations before the election, returning to City Hall with ballots and paperwork election night, and collaborating with each other.

All election officials are essential and in recent years have been subjected to increased scrutiny. It continues to be difficult to recruit qualified officials.

## **ACTION REQUESTED:**

Motion to recommend the Common Council adopt Gen. Ord. No. 20-22-23. It is also asked that when Council reviews the list of salaries from other municipalities, council amend the Ordinance to further increase salaries.

# **ATTACHMENTS:**

I. Current salaries for Election Officials in other municipalities.