CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

SUSTAINABLE SHEBOYGAN TASK FORCE MINUTES

Monday, December 19, 2022

OPENING OF MEETING

MEMBERS PRESENT: James Van Akkeren, Rebecca Clarke, Rebecca Stewart, Lora Hagen, Jeanne Kliejunas, Chris Kuehnel, Geralyn Leannah, and Cheryl Sohn STAFF/OFFICIALS PRESENT: Mayor Ryan Sorenson, Rachel Masse PUBLIC PRESENT:

OPENING OF MEETING

1. Call to Order

James Van Akkeren called the meeting to order.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

MINUTES

3. Approval of minutes from the November 14, 2022 meeting.

Motion by Rebecca Clarke, seconded by Chris Kuehnel to approve. Motion Carried.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

4. Introductions of those present.

Members and staff present at meeting introduced themselves and their interest in the task force.

5. Public Comment.

No public present.

6. Discussion of the procedure used at meetings.

James Van Akkeren discussed how a government committee is run and how the Sustainable Sheboygan Task Force will function. The work the task force performs will be research and data driven, and recommendations will give a clear path forward. The task force must be conscious of the City budget when making recommendations.

7. Review of 2015 Sustainability Plan. Implementation of plan. Revisions to the plan.

James Van Akkeren discussed the existing Sustainability Plan and Green Tier Report and how these will be used as a starting point for the task force. The task force will begin to review and revise he sustainability plan and create new action steps. Rebecca Clarke questioned what action steps from the 2015 Sustainability Plan have been accomplished. James Van Akkeren explained that questions can be asked to the appropriate department heads about the current Stainability Plan and any future questions that may arise. The task force discussed if it was necessary to follow the current format and subject titles that are used in the Sustainability Plan and Green Tier Report when revising the plan and creating subcommittees.

8. Discussion of subcommittees.

James Van Akkeren discussed the task force creating two or three subcommittees based on the interests of the task force members. Cheryl Sohn questioned if community members not on the task force may be involved in subcommittees.

NEXT MEETING DATE

9. Next Meeting Date: January 9th, 2022

ADJOURN

10. Motion to Adjourn

Motion by Jeanne Kliejunas, second by Chris Kuehnel. Motion carried.

Being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:48 p.m.