CITY OF SHEBOYGAN

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Monday, October 18, 2021

ALDERPERSONS PRESENT:

Dean Dekker, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, *Barbara Felde (remote), Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar, Grazia Perrella, Leslie Laster, Andre Walton - 9.

ALDERPERSON ABSENT AND EXCUSED:

Markus Savaglio - 1.

*Alderperson Felde joined the meeting during action item 2.2 below

Meeting called to order at 7:42 PM

1. OPENING OF MEETING

1.1 ROLL CALL

- **1.2 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**
- 1.3 APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES Committee of the Whole minutes from June 7, 2021

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES Motion by Roberta Filicky-Peneski, second by Leslie Laster. Final Resolution: Motion Passes Aye: Dean Dekker, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar, Grazia Perrella, Leslie Laster, Andre Walton - 8. Not Present to Vote: Barbara Felde - 1.

2. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

2.1 Res. No. 69-21-22 by Alderpersons Dekker, Felde, and Filicky-Peneski adopting the one-year extension to the City of Sheboygan 2017-2021 Strategic Plan and the addition of 2022 Action Items and Critical Measurements.

MOTION TO RECOMMEND COMMON COUNCIL ADOPT THE RESOLUTION Motion by Roberta Filicky-Peneski, second by Betty Ackley. Final Resolution: Motion Passes Aye: Dean Dekker, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar, Grazia Perrella, Leslie Laster, Andre Walton - 8. Not Present at Vote: Barbara Felde -1.

2.2 R. C. No. 129-21-22 by Finance and Personnel Committee to whom was referred Res. No. 75-21-22 by Alderpersons Felde and Filicky-Peneski establishing the 2022 Budget appropriations and the 2021 Tax Levy for use during the calendar year; recommends adopting the Resolution.

MOTION TO RECOMMEND COMMON COUNCIL ADOPT THE RESOLUTION Motion by Roberta Filicky-Peneski, second by Grazia Perrella. BEFORE ACTION WAS TAKEN, MOTION TO AMEND RESOLUTION TO ADD \$100,000 TO SALARIES AND BENEFITS LINE ITEMS IN MAYOR'S BUDGET WITH CORRESPONDING REDUCTION FROM GENERAL FUND BALANCE FOR FULL-TIME COMMUNICATION SPECIALIST IN 2022 Motion by Roberta Filicky-Peneski, second by Amanda Salazar. Final Resolution: Motion Fails

Aye: Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar - 2.

Nay: Dean Dekker, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, Barbara Felde, Grazia Perrella, Leslie Laster, Andre

Walton - 7.

MOTION TO AMEND RESOLUTION TO ADD \$50,697 TO PERSONNEL BUDGET OF LIBRARY FUND WITH CORRESPONDING REDUCTION FROM GENERAL FUND BALANCE IN ORDER TO INCREASE WAGES OF PART-TIME STAFF TO \$13/HOUR Motion by Amanda Salazar, second by Barbara Felde. Final Resolution: Motion Fails Aye: Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar, Grazia Perrella, Andre Walton - 4. Nay: Dean Dekker, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, Barbara Felde, Leslie Laster - 5. ON MOTION TO RECOMMEND COMMON COUNCIL ADOPT THE RESOLUTION Final Resolution: Motion Passes: Aye: Dean Dekker, Barbara Felde, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar, Grazia Perrella, Leslie Laster, Andre Walton - 9.

2.3 R. C. No. 130-21-22 by Licensing, Hearings, and Public Safety Committee to whom was referred Res. No. 75-21-22 by Alderpersons Felde and Filicky-Peneski establishing the 2022 Budget appropriations and the 2021 Tax Levy for use during the calendar year; recommends adopting the Resolution.

MOTION TO RECOMMEND COUNCIL FILE THE R. C. Motion by Roberta Filicky-Peneski, second by Trey Mitchell. Final Resolution: Motion Passes Aye: Dean Dekker, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, Barbara Felde, Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar, Grazia Perrella, Leslie Laster, Andre Walton - 9.

2.4 R. C. No. 131-21-22 by Public Works Committee to whom was referred Res. No. 75-21-22 by Alderpersons Felde and Filicky-Peneski establishing the 2022 Budget appropriations and the 2021 Tax Levy for use during the calendar year; recommends adopting the Resolution.

MOTION TO RECOMMEND COUNCIL FILE THE R. C. Motion by Roberta Filicky-Peneski, second by Trey Mitchell. Final Resolution: Motion Passes Aye: Dean Dekker, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, Barbara Felde, Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar, Grazia Perrella, Leslie Laster, Andre Walton - 9.

3. ADJOURN

3.1 Motion to adjourn

MOTION TO ADJOURN AT 8:46 PM Motion by Roberta Filicky-Peneski, second by Betty Ackley. Final Resolution: Motion Passes Aye: Dean Dekker, Trey Mitchell, Betty Ackley, Barbara Felde, Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Amanda Salazar, Grazia Perrella, Leslie Laster, Andre Walton - 9.