

Planning Commission Members in Attendance: Commissioner Drew Hoffman, Michael Weight, BreAnna Nixon, LaDawn Moak, and Michael Romero.

Commissioner Chair Trevor Wood and Deputy Chair Kylie Lance were excused from the meeting.

Others in Attendance: Senior Planner Ryan Harris, Recorder Amalie Ottley, City Council Member Jeff Siddoway, Randall & Jude Ercanbrack.

Commissioner Hoffman called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

As there wasn't a Board Chair or Deputy Chair at the meeting a vote was taken to approve a Temporary Chair to conduct the meeting.

Commissioner Nixon made a motion to appoint Commissioner Hoffman as Deputy Chair. Commissioner Weight seconded the motion.

Commissioner Wood	Absent
Commissioner Lance	Absent
Commissioner Hoffman	Yes
Commissioner Moak	Yes
Commissioner Nixon	Yes
Commissioner Romero	Yes
Commissioner Weight	Yes

The motion passed.

INVOCATION/INSPIRATIONAL THOUGHT

Commissioner Weight offered an invocation.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Romero led the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBLIC FORUM

Commissioner Hoffman opened the Public Forum at 7:04 p.m.

No members of the public wished to address the Planning Commission in the Public Forum

Commissioner Hoffman closed the Public Forum at 7:04 p.m.

DISCUSSION & POSSIBLE ACTION ITEMS:

1. Public Hearing: Ercanbrack Rezone Request

Mr. Randall Ercanbrack with W.M. Ercanbrack Co., Inc. is proposing a rezone of 1.54 acres located at 580 West Main Street. The property is currently zoned as the Main Street Commercial (MSC) District within the Main Street Business Districts Zone. The applicant is requesting that the property be rezoned to the Commercial Light Manufacturing (CLM) Zone. Most of the property (Parcel 32:006:0109) is currently zoned CLM and a smaller portion of the property (1.54 acres) is zoned MSC. If the rezone is approved, the entire property will be in the CLM Zone.

The applicant, Randall Ercanbrack, attended the meeting in person to express his desire to rezone a portion of his property.

Commissioner Hoffman opened the Public Hearing at 7:11 p.m.

No members of the public wished to address the council or the applicant in the Public Hearing.

Commissioner Hoffman closed the Public Hearing at 7:11 p.m.

Commissioner Romero inquired if there were any other lots in the City with two separate zones or if there were City or State codes that address those types of lots. Planner Harris indicated that the preference as set forth by City Code is that lots be consolidated to a single zone. Commissioner Romero inquired about the "sellability" of these types of lots. The applicant stated it would be easier for him to sell his property, if he chose to do so, if it were consolidated into one zone. Lastly, Commissioner Romero inquired if a variance could be offered to the applicant rather than going through the rezone process. Planner Harris stated that the code clearly lays out the process for rezoning and rezone requests. The other members of the Planning Commission expressed their support for the rezone.

Commissioner Romero made a motion to forward a positive recommendation to the City Council that approximately 1.54 acres of the WM Ercanbrack Co, Inc property be rezones from the Main Street Commercial (MSC) District within the Main Street Business Districts Zone to the Commercial Light Manufacturing (CLM) Zone. Commissioner Nixon seconded the motion.

Commissioner Wood	Absent
Commissioner Lance	Absent
Commissioner Moak	Yes
Commissioner Nixon	Yes
Commissioner Romero	Yes
Commissioner Weight	Yes
Commissioner Hoffman	Yes

The motion passed.

OTHER BUSINESS

2. Meeting Minutes Approval

Commissioner Nixon made a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the November 14th, 2023 Planning Commission Meeting. Commissioner Weight seconded the motion.

Commissioner Wood	Absent
Commissioner Lance	Absent
Commissioner Moak	Yes
Commissioner Nixon	Yes
Commissioner Romero	Yes
Commissioner Weight	Yes
Commissioner Hoffman	Yes

The motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Moak made a motion to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:35 p.m.

City Recorder – Amalie R. Ottley

Planning Commission Chair – Trevor Wood