

## SAN JUAN COUNTY COMMISSION

Silvia Stubbs Chair Lori Maughan Vice-Chair Jamie Harvey Commissioner Mack McDonald Administrator

April 15, 2025

Utah Broadband Center Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity 60 E. South Temple, Suite 300 Salt Lake City, UT 84111

**Subject:** Letter of Recommendation for Emery Telephone, Inc.

To Whom It May Concern,

On behalf of San Juan County, I am pleased to provide this letter of recommendation for Emery Telephone, Inc. in support of their application for funding through the Utah Broadband Equity and Access Deployment (BEAD) grant program.

Reliable broadband access is essential for economic growth, education, healthcare, and overall quality of life in our community. Unfortunately, many rural areas within San Juan County continue to face significant connectivity challenges, limiting opportunities for residents and businesses alike. Emery Telephone, Inc. has demonstrated a strong commitment to bridging this digital divide, working diligently to expand high-speed internet access across our region.

Emery Telephone Inc. has been a trusted partner in broadband expansion efforts, consistently delivering high-quality service with a focus on affordability and accessibility. Their expertise, dedication, and responsiveness have significantly benefited our county, ensuring that underserved and unserved areas receive the attention they deserve. Their proposed project for the BEAD grant aligns perfectly with our county's broadband goals, and we are confident that their efforts will lead to meaningful improvements in connectivity for our residents.

We strongly support Emery Telephone, Inc.'s grant application and urge your favorable consideration. Their proven track record and commitment to broadband expansion make them an ideal candidate for this funding opportunity.

If you require any additional information regarding our support, please feel free to contact Mack McDonald at (435) 459 - 3225. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerel	У	,
----------	---	---

Silvia Stubbs Commission Chair