

# CITY COUNCIL ACTION FORM

DEPARTMENT	PRESENTED BY	DATE
Community Development	Carolyn Poissant - Senior Planner	November 5, 2024

#### AGENDA ITEM

Resolution 2024-68 Citizen Appointments to the Planning Commission

#### **BACKGROUND**

The Planning Commission is made up of seven regular members and two alternate members. Currently, five regular positions are filled. The two vacancies are those of Michelle Walker and Judith Dockery, both of whom submitted resignations. The two alternate positions are also currently filled.

Advertisement and postings for openings regarding city boards and commissions were distributed beginning August 30<sup>th</sup> with a final deadline of October 7<sup>th</sup>. Four applications were received for two regular Planning Commission vacancies, including applications from the two current alternates and two citizens. The selection committee was comprised of Mayor Dan Shore, Councilmember Wayles Martin, Planning Commission Chair Greg Follet, Vice Chair Francie Bomer and staff Senior Planner Carolyn Poissant.

The current makeup of the Commission is as follows:

Term Expires
06/04/2028
04/21/2027
01/01/2027
08/16/2026
05/07/2028
Did not seek re-appointment
04/21/2027
02/15/2026
02/15/2026

## **RECOMMENDATION**

The selection committee recommended that City Council appoint current alternates Dan Bush and Kenny Layton as regular members of the Planning Commission, filling the two vacancies, and Sara Baris and Cory Riggs as alternate members, subject to Council approval.

## FISCAL IMPACT - n/a

#### **MOTION**

A City Councilmember should state, "I move to \_\_\_\_\_\_ Resolution 2024-68, a resolution of the City Council for the City of Salida, Colorado approving the following appointments to the Planning Commission," (per below) followed by a second and a roll call vote:

- 1. Appoint Dan Bush as a regular member, term to expire November 5, 2028 (filling the vacancy left following the resignation of Michelle Walker)
- 2. Appoint Kenny Layton as a regular member, term to expire April 21, 2027 (filling the vacancy left upon the early resignation of Judith Dockery)
- 3. Appoint Sara Baris as an alternate member, term to expire February 15, 2026 (filling the vacancy left by Dan Bush)
- 4. Appoint Cory Riggs as an alternate member, term to expire February 15, 2026 (filling the vacancy left by Kenny Layton)