

CITY COUNCIL ACTION FORM

DEPARTMENT	PRESENTED BY	DATE
Planning	Bill Almquist - Community Development Director	May 7, 2024

ITEM

Resolution 2024-34 Citizen Appointment to the Planning Commission

BACKGROUND

The Planning Commission is made up of seven regular members and two alternate members. Currently, all regular and alternate positions are filled.

Commissioner Aaron Derwingson's term expired on March 21, 2024 and he has indicated that he would like to serve another term. Staff did not catch the expiration until after the last City Council meeting in April (Mr. Derwingson filled a previously vacated position, the term of which only lasted one year—less than the typical four-year term).

The current makeup of the Commission is as follows:

Member	Term Expires
Greg Follet, Chair	06/07/2024
Francie Bomer, Vice Chair	04/21/2027
Judith Dockery	04/21/2027
Giff Kriebel	01/01/2027
Michelle Walker	06/07/2024
Brian Colby	08/16/2026
Aaron Derwingson	03/21/2024 Term Expired
Dan Bush, Alternate	02/15/2026
Kenny Layton, Alternate	02/15/2026

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

Staff is recommending Council re-appoint Aaron Derwingson as a regular member of the Planning Commission.

SUGGESTED MOTION

A Council person should make a motion "to approve Resolution 2024-34, a resolution of the City Council for the City of Salida, Colorado approving the following appointment to the Planning Commission:

1. Re-appoint <u>Aaron Derwingson</u> as a Regular Member, term to expire March 21, 2028"