

# CITY OF ROLLINGWOOD UTILITY COMMISSION MINUTES

## Tuesday, December 03, 2024

The Utility Commission of the City of Rollingwood, Texas held a meeting, open to the public, in the Municipal Building at 403 Nixon Drive in Rollingwood, Texas on December 3, 2024. Members of the public and the Utility Commission were able to participate in the meeting virtually, as long as a quorum of the Utility Commission and the presiding officer were physically present at the Municipal Building, in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act. A video recording of the meeting was made and will be posted to the City's website and available to the public in accordance with the Texas Public Information Act upon written request.

# CALL UTILITY COMMISSION MEETING TO ORDER

1. Roll Call

## Chair Jonathan Miller called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m.

**Present Members:** Chair Jonathan Miller, Elizabeth Bray, Chris Kirksey, Christopher Meakin, and Clark Wilson

**Also Present:** City Administrator Ashley Wayman, Interim City Secretary Makayla Rodriguez, Utility Billing Manager Veronica Hernandez, and Council Member Phil McDuffee

#### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no public comments.

#### CONSENT AGENDA

2. Discussion and possible action on the minutes from the November 7, 2024 Utility Commission meeting

Chris Kirksey moved to approve the meeting minutes. Clark Wilson seconded the motion. The motion carried with 5 in favor and 0 against.

#### **REGULAR AGENDA**

3. Discussion regarding intent to continue serving on the Utility Commission

City Administrator Ashley Wayman explained that Sam Attal, Chris Kirksey, and Walt Roloson have reached the end of their term of service on the commission. She explained

that their request for reappointment will go to City Council for consideration at their next meeting.

4. Report and discussion on a financial overview of the water and wastewater funds

City Administrator Ashley Wayman gave an overview of the water and wastewater funds from the current and previous fiscal year. She discussed expenditures, revenues, and reserves.

The Utility Commission asked questions of Ms. Wayman regarding the water fund.

City Administrator Ashley Wayman stated that she would like to have a water rate study next year.

City Administrator Ashley Wayman and the Utility Commission discussed the e-meters and water restrictions.

5. Discussion and possible action on strategies to increase participation for the EyeOnWater Customer Portal

City Administration Ashley Wayman shared the efforts made by staff to increase participation on the EyeOnWater Customer Portal.

The Utility Commission shared ideas to increase participation. They discussed additional messaging, leak alerts, and the leak adjustment policy.

6. Update, discussion and possible action regarding a policy for grinder pump maintenance and replacement

City Administrator Ashley Wayman updated the Utility Commission with information regarding grinder pumps and grinder pump maintenance from last month.

The Utility Commission asked questions of Ms. Wayman regarding grinder pumps, city involvement, and grinder pump maintenance.

Ashley Wayman and the Utility Commission discussed grinder pumps and shared ideas on how to better manage grinder pump expenses.

Council Member Phil McDuffee stated that other municipalities charge monthly fees to maintain grinder pumps as well as discussed property topography and possible solutions.

The Utility Commission discussed possible recommendations to City Council. City Administrator Ashley Wayman stated that proper notice would be given to residents if changes were made. The Utility Commission continued to discuss ideas.

Chris Kirksey moved to submit four options to City Council; maintain the status quo, propose a \$20 payment by the owner, propose a \$10 payment by the owner, or table the item until the rate study. Clark Wilson seconded the motion. The motion carried with 4 in favor and 1 abstention (Meakin).

#### **ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING**

The meeting was adjourned at 6:27 p.m.

Minutes adopted on the \_\_\_\_\_day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2024.

Jonathan Miller, Chair

ATTEST:

Makayla Rodriguez, City Secretary