Town Council Subcommittees

The Town Council Subcommittees are responsible for providing input and making recommendations to Town staff on behalf of the Town Council. There are currently five Town Council Subcommittees. The purpose and scope of each subcommittee is defined below.

Council Technology/VERF Subcommittee

- Shall periodically review the Town's existing technological capabilities, and make recommendations for improvements
- Shall periodically review and make recommendations on the Town's Vehicle and Equipment Replacement Fund (VERF) as it relates to the acquisition, implementation, maintenance and upgrading of the Town's technology, software, and computer equipment
- Shall make recommendations for the continuous improvement of the Town's website and use of social media
- Shall make recommendations to promote the use of technology to increase efficiency of operations within the Town

The current subcommittee consists of two Councilmembers (Craig Andres and Chris Kern). Staff support includes the Town Manager, Executive Director of Administrative Services, IT Director, Finance Director, and Purchasing Manager.

Council Finance Subcommittee

- Shall review the Town's annual Audit/CAFR prior to presentation to the Town Council
- Shall periodically review and make recommendations to the Town's employee compensation and classification plan
- Shall periodically review and make recommendations to the Town's Vehicle and Equipment Replacement Fund (VERF) as it relates to the acquisition, replacement and upgrading of the Town's vehicles and equipment
- Shall review and make recommendations to the investment policy annually
- Shall make recommendations on various Town-related financial matters

The current subcommittee consists of three Councilmembers (Mayor David Bristol, Marcus Ray, and Charles Cotten). Staff support includes the Town Manager, Executive Director of Administrative Services, and Finance Director.

Council Benefits Subcommittee - Dissolved by Town Council on December 13, 2022

- Shall review significant changes to employee benefits that may impact the Town's ability to attract and retain employees
- Shall periodically review and provide input on benefit plans offered to employees
- Shall periodically review and provide input on the employee wellness program
- Shall provide advice and direction to ensure Town benefits are cost-effective

The current subcommittee consists of three Councilmembers (Jeff Hodges, Amy Bartley, and Charles Cotten). Staff support includes the Town Manager, Executive Director of Administrative Services, HR Director, and Finance Director.

Council Broadband Subcommittee

Established for the purpose of researching internet service options within the Town. Committee may meet with providers and/or an external organization to study current service and develop a plan to improve service within the Town.

The current subcommittee consists of three Councilmembers (Craig Andres, Marcus Ray, and Chris Kern) and Greg Creek (resident). Staff support includes the Town Manager, Executive Director of Administrative Services, Development Services Director, IT Director, and Town Attorney (as needed).

<u>Community Engagement Committee (CEC) – Established as formal Committee on September</u> 13, 2022

Established in December 2020 for the purpose of providing residents with an opportunity to enhance the Town's interaction with the public. The Community Engagement Subcommittee shall:

- Act in an advisory capacity to the Town Council regarding Community Engagement activities
- Identify topics of interest and methods or techniques to improve community engagement
- Evaluate, provide feedback, and make recommendations on selected Town programs, events, and activities
- Serve as a focus group for selected pilot projects or programs that may require or benefit from public input before implementation
- Serve as social media ambassadors for the Town by engaging with the Town's social media platforms
- Inform the Subcommittee of community events that may be of interest to the Town Council (multicultural celebrations, large neighborhood events, nonprofit events, etc.)

The current committee consists of three Councilmembers (Marcus Ray, Amy Bartley, Jeff Hodges) and eleven Council-appointed residents with one alternate (See Ord. 2022-56 and 2022-61). Staff support includes the Executive Director of Community Services and Community Engagement Specialist.

Legislative Affairs Subcommittee

- Reviews makes recommendations to the full Council on the Town's Legislative Agenda prior to each legislative session
- Serves as the primary representatives responsible for communicating the Town's legislative priorities to members of the Texas Legislature, appropriate legislative committees, staff members or agencies
- Works with the Town & EDC lobbyist and staff to develop legislative strategies and tactical responses to support or oppose legislation in accordance with the Town's Legislative Agenda.

The current subcommittee consists of two Councilmembers (Mayor Bristol and Craig Andres). Staff support includes the Town Manager, Executive Director of the Prosper Economic Development Corporation and Executive Director of Community Services

Capital Improvements Subcommittee

- Obtain a holistic view of the Town's short-term and long-term capital improvement needs regardless of possible funding sources.
- Using projected funding available by year received from staff and reviewed by the Finance sub-committee prioritize the timing and scope of projects for a minimum of five but potentially up to ten years. Available funding sources as determined by the Finance sub-committee will include the Capital Dedicated Fund, Impact Fee Funds, debt issuance, grants, year-end savings, and other sources.
- In the event, that the sub-committee believes that available funding is not sufficient to complete all needed capital projects within the desired timeframe request the Finance sub-committee to identify additional funding sources including additional debt issuance.
- Make a clear recommendation to the Town Council on the capital improvement projects that would be selected as part of the budget process through the adoption of the Multi-Year Capital Plan.

The current subcommittee consists of three Councilmembers (Jeff Hodges, Amy Bartley, and Charles Cotten). Staff support includes the Town Manager, Executive Director of Administrative Services, and Interim Executive Director of Infrastructure and Development Services.