RESOLUTION NO: 2025-12

A RESOLUTION OF THE VILLAGE OF POPLAR GROVE APPOINTING INDIVIDUALS TO THE VILLAGE PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION

- **WHEREAS**, the Village of Poplar Grove ("Village") has established a Planning and Zoning Commission to assume jurisdiction of all matters assigned to the Zoning Board of Appeals, the Planning Commission, or the Zoning Committee; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Village has the authority to appoint members to the Planning and Zoning Commission; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Planning and Zoning Commission is to consist of seven (7) members to serve respectively for the following initial terms: one member for one (1) year, one member for two (2) years, one member for three (3) years, one member for four (4) years, one member for five (5) years, one member for six (6) years, and one member for seven (7) years, with the successor to each member so appointed to serve for terms of five (5) years after the expiration of the initial terms; and
- **WHEREAS**, pursuant to Section 8-3-3, entitled "Terms of Office; Vacancies; Removal," vacancies on the Planning and Zoning Commission shall be filled for the unexpired term of the member whose place has become vacant; and
- **WHEREAS**, the members of the Planning and Zoning Commission are to be appointed by the Village President, subject to the advice and consent of the Village Board of Trustees; and
- **WHEREAS**, Planning and Zoning Commission member Nate Sroka was appointed to the original one year term, which expired April 30, 2024, and Mr. Sroka has served in a hold-over capacity since that date; and
- **WHEREAS**, Planning and Zoning Commission member Kim Krawczyk was appointed to the original two year term, which expired April 30, 2025, and Ms. Krawczyk has served in a hold-over capacity since that date; and
- **WHEREAS**, Planning and Zoning Commission member David Allgood was appointed to the original six year term, which is set to expire on April 30, 2029. Mr. Allgood has resigned from the Planning and Zoning Commission and his seat is currently vacant; and
- **WHEREAS**, Planning and Zoning Commission member Jessica Roberts was appointed to the original seven year term, which expired April 30, 2025, and Ms. Roberts has served in a hold-over capacity since that date; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to appoint Nate Sroka to the now expired term previously held by him, which was originally a one year term, with said term to expire on April 30, 2029; and

- **WHEREAS**, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to appoint Kim Krawczyk to the now expired term previously held by her, which was originally a two year term, with said term to expire on April 30, 2030; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to appoint Darrell McFarlin to the term he currently holds, which was originally a three year term, with said term to expire on April 30, 2026; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to appoint Amy Eckberg to the term she currently holds, which was originally a four year term, with said term to expire on April 30, 2027; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to appoint Melissa Robinson to the term she currently holds, which was originally a five year term, with said term to expire on April 30, 2028; and
- **WHEREAS**, the original six year term previously held by David Allgood is currently vacant and upon a person being appointed by the Village President and approved by the Village Board, such person shall fill the remainder of the term which is to expire on April 30, 2029; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to appoint Jessica Roberts to the now expired term previously held by her which was originally a seven year term, with said term to expire on April 30, 2030; and
- **WHEREAS**, in accordance with the Village's Code of Ordinances, the Village has the authority, upon the expiration of a member's initially appointed term of years, to appoint successor members to serve for a term of five (5) years; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Village Board of Trustees finds it to be in the best interest of the Village to make such appointments to best serve the public.
- **NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, by the Village President and Village Board of Trustees of the Village of Poplar Grove, Illinois, as follows:
- **Section 1.** Recitals. The recitals set forth above are incorporated herein as part of this Resolution.

Section 2. Appointment of Commissioners.

- a. Nate Sroka is hereby appointed, effective immediately, to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2029.
- b. Kim Krawczyk is hereby appointed, effective immediately, to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2030.

- c. Darrell McFarlin is hereby appointed, effective immediately, to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2026.
- d. Amy Eckberg is hereby appointed, effective immediately, to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2027.
- e. Melissa Robinson is hereby appointed, effective immediately, to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2028.
- f. The seat previously held by David Allgood shall remain vacant until his successor is appointed by the Village President with the advice and consent of the Village Board to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2029.
- g. Jessica Roberts is hereby appointed, effective immediately, to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2030.

Section 3. <u>Effective Date.</u> This Resolution shall be in full force and effective immediately upon its passage and approval.

Section 4. Severability. In the event that any section, clause, provision, or part of this Resolution shall be found and determined to be invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, all valid parts that are severable from the invalid parts shall remain in full force and effect.

PASSED UPON MOTION BY
SECONDED BY
BY ROLL CALL VOTE THIS DAY OF, 2025
AS FOLLOWS:
VOTING "AYE":
VOTING "NAY":
ABSENT, ABSTAIN, OTHER

APPROVED	, 2025
VILLAGE PRESIDENT	<u> </u>
ATTEST:	
WILL A CE CLEDY	
VILLAGE CLERK	