RESOLUTION NO: 2024-02

A RESOLUTION OF THE VILLAGE OF POPLAR GROVE APPOINTING AN INDIVIDUAL TO FILL A VACANCY IN THE PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Village of Poplar Grove ("Village") has established a Planning and Zoning Commission to assume jurisdiction of all matters assigned to the Zoning Board of Appeals, the Planning Commission, or the Zoning Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Village has the authority to appoint members to the Planning and Zoning Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Planning and Zoning Commission is to consist of seven (7) members to serve respectively for the following terms: one member for one (1) year, one member for two (2) years, one member for three (3) years, one member for four (4) years, one member for five (5) years, one member for six (6) years, and one member for seven (7) years, the successor to each member so appointed to serve for a term of five (5) years; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 8-3-3, entitled "Terms of Office; Vacancies; Removal," vacancies on the Planning and Zoning Commission shall be filled for the unexpired term of the member whose place has become vacant; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Planning and Zoning Commission are to be appointed by the Village President, subject to the advice and consent of the Village Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, Kim Krawczyk was previously appointed to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission for the remainder of a five (5) year term, set to expire on April 30, 2025; and

WHEREAS, the Planning and Zoning Commission member term of Jason Vodnansky expired April 30, 2022 and Mr. Vodnansky has served in a hold-over capacity since that date; and

WHEREAS, there is a current vacancy in the Planning and Zoning Commission member previously held by Dean Svarc as he resigned, in addition, Mr. Svarc's term expired April 30, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Al Tilford was appointed to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term set to expire on April 30, 2024; and

WHEREAS, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to reappoint Kim Krawczyk to a successive five year term which shall commence on May 1, 2025 and which shall expire on April 30, 2030; and

WHEREAS, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes appoint Amy Ekberg to the now expired term previously held by Jason Vodnansky with said term expiring on April 30, 2027; and

WHEREAS, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to appoint Melissa Robinson to the now expired term of Dean Svarc with said term expiring on April 30, 2028; and

WHEREAS, the Village President of the Village of Poplar Grove wishes to appoint David Allgood to the vacancy on the Planning and Zoning Commission which will occur on April 30, 2024 following the expiration of the term of current member Al Tilford; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the Village's Code of Ordinances, the Village has the authority, upon the conclusion of a member's initially appointed term of years, to appoint successor members to serve for a term of five (5) years; and

WHEREAS, the Village Board of Trustees finds it to be in the best interest of the Village to make such appointments to best serve the public.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Village President and Village Board of Trustees of the Village of Poplar Grove, Illinois, as follows:

Section 1. <u>Recitals</u>. The recitals set forth above are incorporated herein as part of this Resolution.

Section 2. Appointment of Commissioners.

- a. Kim Krawczyk is hereby appointed to a successor five-year term on the Planning and Zoning Commission. The current term of Kim Krawczyk expires on April 30, 2025. The successive term will expire on April 30, 2030.
- b. Amy Eckberg is hereby appointed, effective immediately, to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2027.
- c. Melissa Robinson is hereby appointed, effective immediately, to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2028.
- d. David Allgood is hereby appointed effective May 1, 2024 to serve as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with said term to expire on April 30, 2029.

Section 3. <u>Effective Date.</u> This Resolution shall be in full force and effective immediately upon its passage and approval.

Section 4. <u>Severability</u>. In the event that any section, clause, provision, or part of this Resolution shall be found and determined to be invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, all valid parts that are severable from the invalid parts shall remain in full force and effect.

PASSED UPON MOTION BY	
SECONDED BY	
BY ROLL CALL VOTE THIS DAY	, 2024
AS FOLLOWS:	
VOTING "AYE":	
VOTING "NAY":	
ABSENT, ABSTAIN, OTHER	
APPROVED	, 2024
VILLAGE PRESIDENT	<u>-</u>
ATTEST:	

VILLAGE CLERK