OELWEIN FIRE DEPARTMENT CITY OF OELWEIN, IOWA MEMORANDUM

FROM: Jeremy P. Logan, Public Safety Chief **DATE:** February 17, 2022

TO: City Administrator Dylan Mulfinger – Mayor Brett DeVore

SUBJECT: Volunteer Fire Members Service Awards

I would request that the Oelwein City Council, at the February 28, 2022 Oelwein City Council Meeting, take a moment to acknowledge the dedication, commitment, and service that several volunteer members of the Oelwein Fire Department have provided the city over the past many years and even decades. The Oelwein Volunteer Fire Department provides an invaluable service to our community and the surrounding area. Their service does not stop at fire suppression or accident rescue. These members are civic minded and are committed to making the Oelwein Fire Department the best of the best. A small sampling of this is the members recent efforts to save the City money by volunteering labor during certain aspects of the facilities improvement project. In the past four weeks, the volunteer members have donated over 240 hours of their time to work on the various projects.

The following persons are receiving years of dedicated community service awards:

Name	Award	Actual Years of
	Year	Service
Ryan Haar	5	
Matthew Derifield	10	
Michael Hillman	10	11
Jason Hoveland	10	
Jimmy Lindstrom	10	12
Nick Palmer	10	14
Kim Haar	15	18
Tim Palmer	15	
Jesse Paul	15	
Jim Tuecke	15	17
Betty Haar	20	21
Tim Meaney	20	23
Jay Melchert	20	23
Matt Weber	20	22
Mike Fauser	25	
Mike Thoma	45	49

200 West Charles Street Page 1 of 1 Oelwein, Iowa 50662