Joann M. McDermon, Mayor Mike Benson, Mayor Pro Tem

Aldermen: Richard Grant Connie Pletl Alfred Fontana Tom Leonard



Alice Derian, ICMA-CM Town Manager

> Nancy Avery Interim Town Clerk

## Nature's Tranquil Beauty

**R**esolution 2023 – 01 Official Notification to the Board of Elections 2023 Elections for Town of North Topsail Beach

WHEREAS, the Town of North Topsail Beach Local Bill 2021-49 governed the 2021 elections for the purpose of retaining staggered Board of Aldermen terms; and

**WHEREAS**, the bill did not amend the Charter but mandated that future elections follow section 3.3 of the Town's Charter which reads "Beginning at the regular municipal election to be held in 1993, and every four years thereafter, three members of the Board of Aldermen shall be elected to serve for four-year terms"; and

WHEREAS, two of the aldermen elected in the 2021 election resigned and appointments were made for both positions; and

WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute 160A-63 Vacancies states that an appointed person serves until the next election;

**NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the ballot for the 2023 municipal election for the Town of North Topsail Beach will be as follows:

- 1. Three alderman vacancies for four-year terms each. Current aldermen terms expiring in 2023 are Fred Fontana, Tom Leonard and Connie Pletl. (Fontana and Leonard were appointed to replace resigning members Harte and Swantek)
- 2. One mayor vacancy for a two-year term. Current mayor term expiring in 2023 is Joann McDermon.

This resolution duly adopted by the Town of North Topsail Beach Board of Aldermen this the first day of February 2023.

	Joann McDermon, Mayor
ATTES	Γ:
	Nancy Avery, Interim Town Clerk