

## CITY OF NORMAN, OK STAFF REPORT

MEETING DATE:	05/27/25
REQUESTER:	AshLynn Wilkerson, Assistant City Attorney
PRESENTER:	AshLynn Wilkerson, Assistant City Attorney
ITEM TITLE:	RECOGNITION OF THE 2024-2025 NORMAN YOUTH COUNCIL.

## BACKGROUND:

On February 9, 2010, City Council adopted Resolution R-0910-92 creating the Norman Youth Council to promote civic engagement among youth, give youth a formal role in local decision-making, and offer real world experiences with elected and advisory bodies.

This year is the first term for different programing for the Youth Council. Previously, the councilors would tour City facilities and listen to presentations to educate them on the ins and outs of City Government. This year, the Youth Councilors worked to prepare an advocacy project. The councilors conducted research, surveyed their peers, participated in panel discussions with community stakeholders, and collaborated with City Staff to develop their presentation regarding youth mental health concerns and a potential program to assist with the issues they identified.

## DISCUSSION:

Norman Youth Council will provide a presentation on their advocacy project and be recognized by certificate for their participation. The 2024-2025 Norman Youth Councilors are Peyton Barbour, Taylor Covey, Britton Carroll, Zoey Davenport, Anika Dehadrai, Mahi Gahlot, Bryson Hoyle, Iris Mains, Eliot Michalski, Vilynsia Phillmore, Madeline Smith, Jessie Wong, and Andrew Zhang.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends the above councilors be presented with a certificate by Mayor Larry Heikkila and the City Council.