AN AMENDMENT TO A RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NORMAN, OKLAHOMA APPOINTING COMMUNITY MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES TO THE STRONG TOWN AD HOC COMMITTEE TO SERVE AS PART OF THE LEADERSHIP TEAM FOR THE STRONG TOWNS COMMUNITY ACTION LAB, ADDING AND REMOVING CERTAIN COMMITTEE MEMBERS, AND-SETTING FORTH GROUND RULES FOR PARTICIPATION, AND IDENTIFYING A TERMINATION DATE FOR THE AD HOC COMMITTEE.

- § 1. WHEREAS, Strong Towns is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit media advocacy organization that seeks to provide services to communities to create a post-war pattern of development that is financially strong and resilient; and
- § 2. WHEREAS, Strong Towns is implementing a program called "Community Action Lab" which involves an extended engagement for multi-pronged approaches to mobilizing specific communities for change and coaching key local leaders through critical action steps meant to help a community realize a financially strong and resilient position; and
- § 3. WHEREAS, the Community Action Lab process lasts approximately two years and consists of five phases: Preparation, Kickoff, Capacity Building (2-6 months), Action (7-11 months), and Ongoing Support (12 months beyond completion of other phrases); and
- § 4. WHEREAS, Norman was selected for participation in the Community Action Lab and entered into Contract K-2223-53 on November 22, 2022 in the amount of \$149,875 for participation in the Community Action Lab; and
- § 5. WHEREAS, Strong Towns has proposed a Leadership Team to participate in the Community Action Lab process which will consist of elected City Council members, appointed Planning Commission members, the City's Management Team staff members, and an ad hoc committee of appointed community leaders; and
- § 6. WHEREAS, regular attendance by members of the Leadership Team, as well as a dedicated effort to find common ground among attendees is crucial to a productive Community Action Lab.; and
- § 7. WHEREAS, the first year of the Community Action Lab concluded effective November 21, 2023, which places the City of Norman in the "Ongoing Support" portion of the Community Action Lab process, which will itself finally conclude on November 21, 2024; and
- § 8. WHEREAS, the purpose of this Amendment No. 1 is to redefine the Ad Hoc Leadership Team of Strong Towns Community Action Lab for this final year of Ongoing Support.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NORMAN, OKLAHOMA:

§ 79. That, the following <u>sixteen</u> community members shall be appointed to the Strong Towns Ad Hoc Committee:

Cameron Brewer, Chair

Kelly Sitzman, Vice Chair

Amy Cerato

Andy Sherrer

Evan Rink

Brian Hilgenfeld

Todd Howery

Travis Dennis

Curtis McCarty

Tanner Morton

Erin Rice

Jayke Flaggert

Misty Grantham

Thomas (Scott) Christian

Rebecca Perot-Tripp

Rick McKinney

Tyler McManaman

Zach Stevens

Anna Hyslop

Corey Godine

Ryan Streight

Russell Kaplan

Randy Gardner

Solon Clinton

§ <u>810</u>. That, the following alternates shall be appointed as non-voting members of the Strong Towns Ad Hoc Committee and shall be available for appointment to replace a voting member by the Chairperson, or in his absence, the Vice-Chairperson, should a vacancy occur on the Committee:

Taylor Davis

Maria Kindle

Kathryn Morris-Scott

Steve Ladner

§ 911. That, the Chairperson, in conjunction with City Staff and Strong Towns (to the extent of Strong Towns' Ongoing Support for this final phase), shall collaborate to set meetings of the Ad Hoc Committee after the Kickoff phase, which meetings shall conclude no later than November 21, 2024.

 $\S 120$. Eligibility to Serve. Committee members shall at all times meet the following criteria to serve on the Committee:

- All members shall be Norman residents, and have been registered to vote in Norman for at least six months.
- Attend all meetings, missing no more than two consecutive meetings
- Avoid disruptive behavior during meetings of the Committee, which shall include failure to engage other committee members or members of the Leadership Team with respect or with an open-mind and willingness to compromise.

PASSED AND ADOPTED THIS DA	AY OF, 2023.
ATTEST:	Larry Heikkila Mayor
Brenda Hall, City Clerk	