

TOWN COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING INAUGURATION CEREMONY

Town Council Chambers, Moncks Corner Municipal Complex, 118 Carolina Avenue TUESDAY, JANUARY 02, 2024 at 6:00 PM

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

CALL TO ORDER

The special meeting of Town Council was called to order by Mayor Pro-Tem Dennis at 6:00 p.m.

Present:

Mayor Thomas J. Hamilton, Jr.
Mayor Pro-Tem David A. Dennis, Jr.
Council Member DeWayne G. Kitts
Council Member James N. Law, Jr.
Council Member Latorie Lloyd
Council Member Chadwick D. Sweatman
Council Member James B. Ware, III

Staff Present:

Jeffrey V. Lord, Town Administrator
James E. Brogdon, Jr., Interim Town Attorney
Marilyn M. Baker, Administrative Services Director/Clerk to Council
Justine H. Lovell, Finance Director
Rebecca T. Ellison, Recreation Director
R. Logan Faulkner, Public Service Director
Robert L. Gass, III, Fire Chief
Stephen G. Young, Police Chief
Lee W. Mixon, Jr., Police Captain
Justin S. Westbrook, Community Development Director
Rebecca Vetter, Business Development Manager
Mohamed A. Ibrahim, Technology Manager

Absent: Michael E. Harrelson, Commissioner Elect - Moncks Corner Commission of Public Works

INVOCATION

The invocation was delivered by Council Member DeWayne G. Kitts.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was led by Council Member Chadwick D. Sweatman.

1. Oath of Office:

The following elected officials were present and sworn in by Attorney James E. Brogdon to serve their terms as stated below in their respective offices:

Mayor: Thomas J. Hamilton, Jr. – Term (January 2, 2024 to January 2, 2028 Council: David A. Dennis, Jr. – Term (January 2, 2024 to January 2, 2028) Council: James N. Law, Jr. – Term (January 2, 2024 to January 2, 2028) Council: Latorie S. Lloyd - Term - (January 2, 2024 to January 2, 2028) Commission of Public Works: Michael E. Harrelson – Not in attendance.

2. Election of Mayor Pro-Tempore

Motion was made by Council Member Sweatman to elect Council Member David A. Dennis, Jr. to serve as Mayor Pro-Tempore for a two-year term through January 2, 2028. There were no other nominations brought to the floor. Motion was seconded by Council Member Law. Motion to approve was unanimous as follows:

Voting Yea: Council Member Kitts, Council Member Law, Council Member Lloyd, Council Member Sweatman, Council Member Ware.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion was made by Mayor Pro-Tem Dennis, seconded by Council Member Law to adjourn the special meeting of Council. Motion was approved unanimously as follows.

Voting Yea: Mayor Pro-Tem Dennis, Council Member Kitts, Council Member Law, Council Member Lloyd, Council Member Sweatman, Council Member Ware.

Meeting was adjourned at 6:07 p.m.

A copy of this meeting's agenda was e-mailed to the Post and Courier, The Berkeley Independent, Live 5 News, Channel 4, Channel 2, and The News Journal Scene. As required, the agenda was posted on the Municipal Complex bulletin board and Town Website at least 24 hours prior to the meeting.

Minutes Approved and Adopted:	
	January 16, 2024
Marilyn M. Baker/Clerk to Council	DATE