## MONTGOMERY CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT



MONTGOMERY CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT SHERRY C. HUNTER, RPA, CCA CHIEF APPRAISER



109 GLADSTELL ST., CONROE, TX 77301 P.O. BOX 2233, CONROE, TX 77305 936-756-3354 | <u>WWW.MCAD-TX.ORG</u>

City of Montgomery Sara Countryman, Mayor 101 Old Plantersville Rd Montgomery, Texas 77356

February 25, 2025

## Re: VOTING BALLOT FOR THE ELECTION TO APPOINT FIVE (5) DIRECTORS TO THE MONTGOMERY CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS

As you know, the taxing units are following a new procedure to select appraisal district directors this year as directed by SB 2 (Texas Property Tax Code Sections See 6.0301 and 6.03). All taxing units have completed the process that the law specifies for selecting a nominee. We are now entering the phase whereby the taxing units that are qualified to vote under Section 6.03(d) will select the directors from among the nominated candidates for the five (5) open seats on the appraisal district's board of directors. This letter begins the final step in the process of appointing five directors.

Pursuant to the voting entitlement calculations under Texas Property Tax Code Section 6.03(d), **City of Montgomery** has  $\underline{\mathbf{5}}$  votes.

The governing body of each taxing unit is entitled to cast its votes for a candidate(s) of its choice from the names appearing on the appropriate Certification of Ballot. Your votes may be cast for one candidate or distributed among the candidates listed on the Certification of Ballot. See Property Tax Code Section 6.03 (c). Please be certain to write down the number of votes you wish to cast for the person(s) for whom you are casting your votes.

Each governing body that casts its votes for one or more of the candidates must formally adopt a resolution naming the person(s) for whom it votes, the number of votes cast for each person, and submit a certified copy to the chief appraiser. **The vote must be by resolution.** 

The resolution, or a certified copy thereof, together with the completed Certification of Ballot, must be delivered to *The Office of the Chief Appraiser, at 109 Gladstell St., Conroe, Texas 77301 or by mail at PO Box 2233, Conroe, TX 77305 by 5pm on March 21, 2025.* The outside of the envelope should be marked "Ballot for Board of Directors." Ballots that arrive after that day and time will not be counted.

The resolutions, or a certified copy thereof, together with the completed Certification of Ballot can also be submitted *via e-mail to* <u>MCADBOD@mcad-tx.org</u>, with a Subject line stated "Ballot for Board of Directors". Emails must be received by 5pm on March 21, 2025, to be counted as timely. If submitting the ballot via e-mail, the original must also be mailed to the address shown above via regular first-class mail.

The five candidates receiving the most votes will be appointed to the board of directors. S.B. 2 requires that in this first election three (3) members will be appointed to a three-year term, and two (2) members to a one-year term. The attached voting resolution states that the three candidates receiving the highest votes will serve three-year terms and the two candidates receiving the fourth and fifth highest vote totals will serve a one-year term.

In counting votes cast in the final election involving all voting taxing units entitled to vote, the Tax Code requires the chief appraiser to separate the ballots returned by the Conservation and Reclamation Districts. Pursuant to Section 6.03(k), the candidate who receives the most votes of the Conservation and Reclamation Districts is considered to have received all the votes cast by the Conservation and Reclamation Districts. The other candidates receiving votes from the Conservation and Reclamation Districts who did not receive the most votes cast are considered to have received no votes from the Conservation and Reclamation Districts.

The chief appraiser will count the votes specified under the provisions contained within the Texas Property Tax Code. The chief appraiser will then declare the results and notify the winners, the nominees, and the presiding officers of each taxing unit by March 24, 2025.

A tie vote will be resolved by a method of chance chosen by the chief appraiser.

If you have any questions concerning the election, please contact me.

Sincerely, Sherry C. Hunter, RPA, CCA Chief Appraiser

Enclosures: Official Ballot

Resolution to Cast Votes