

CITY OF MILPITAS AGENDA REPORT (AR)

Item Title:	Consider Mayor's Recommendation and move to appoint four current Alternate Members as Voting Commissioners and Re-appoint three members of the Milpitas Youth Advisory Commission (Contact: Mayor Tran, 408-586-3029)
Category:	Consent Calendar-Leadership and Support Services
Meeting Date:	9/3/2019
Staff Contact:	Mayor Rich Tran, 408-586-3029
Recommendation:	Receive Mayor Tran's recommendation, and move to appoint four current Alternate Members (Saili Karkare, Yugam Satija, Fengyi Huang and Meghana Ambalathingal) as voting Commissioners and re-appoint three members (Ravit Sharma, Aruna Doreswamy, and Saniya Shrotriya) of the Milpitas Youth Advisory Commission to new terms that will expire in September of 2022.

<u>Background</u>: In 2018, City Council adopted a new Commissioner Handbook and in 2019, approved updated By-Laws for 11 City of Milpitas Commission including the Youth Advisory Commission. Those documents now allow for 7 voting Commissioners and 2 Alternate Members on all Commissions.

The Youth Advisory Commission previously had 9 Commissioners and 4 Alternates. Four recent members of the Commission graduated from high school (their terms expire this month) and two Commissioners had resigned in the past year. The new membership of the Commission shall consist of 7 Commissioners and 2 Alternates. That can be accomplished with the "move up" of the existing four alternate members joining the three existing Commissioners, for seven total.

The Mayor may recommend two new young persons from the community to serve as Alternates No. 1 and No. 2 in the future.

Mayor Tran recommends re-appointing Ravit Sharma, Aruna Doreswamy, and Saniya Shrotriya to new terms of three years.

Mayor Tran recommends appointing the existing four Alternate Members to be full voting members: Saili Karkare, Yugam Satija, Fengyi Huang and Meghana Ambalathingal to new terms of three years.

Recommendation:

Receive Mayor Tran's recommendation, and move four alternate members into positions as voting Commissioners and re-appoint three current Commissioners to new terms of three years each, so all of the terms will expire in September of 2022.

Attachment: current roster of Youth Advisory Commission and YAC By-Laws