RESOLUTION NO. 2025-17

A RESOLUTION EXPRESSING SUPPORT FOR THE DESIGNATION OF A UNIQUE ZIP CODE FOR THE CITY OF MILLS

WHEREAS, the United States Postal Service (USPS) plays a vital role in ensuring reliable mail delivery, facilitating commerce, and providing essential services to residents of Mills, Wyoming, and across the nation; and

WHEREAS, the City of Mills currently shares the 82604 ZIP Code with neighboring municipalities, leading to challenges such as misdirected mail, confusion in service delivery, and complications in demographic and economic data collection; and

WHEREAS, Representative Bobert of Colorado introduced H.R. 3095 To direct the United States Postal Service to designate single, unique ZIP Codes for 72 communities, and for other purposes. Co- Sponsored by Representative Hageman of Wyoming; and

WHEREAS, the City of Mills recognizes the national zip code coalition where 72 other communities have joined together to address zip code issues and experience similar lack of resolve with the USPS; and

WHEREAS, the lack of an independent ZIP code for Mills has led to long standing mail delivery issues, which impact legal notices, code enforcement activities, and public outreach efforts. Additionally, having an address that is improperly associated with another jurisdiction has led to taxes distributed to the incorrect city. The lack of an independent ZIP code also causes confusion with voter registration and elections, and interferes with emergency response and public safety activities; and

WHEREAS, the City of Mills has twice petitioned the USPS for a unique ZIP Code designation and has not been successful; and

WHEREAS, the City of Mills requests the assistance of Congress to designate unique zip codes to these more than 72 communities and direct the USPS to resolve this long standing matter,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Mayor and City Council of Mills, Wyoming:

PASSED, APPROVED, AND ADOPTED this ____ day of _____, 2025.

CITY OF MILLS, WYOMING

Leah Juarez, Mayor

Sara McCarthy, Council

Cherie Butcher, Council

Tim Sutherland, Council

Brad Neumiller, Council

ATTEST:

Sarah Osborn, City Clerk