RESOLUTION 2021-25

FAIR HOUSING

WHEREAS, the governing body of the City of Mills firmly believes that discrimination in housing, employment and public accommodation not only threatens the rights and privileges of the citizens of the community but also menace the institutions and foundations of a free and democratic society, and

WHEREAS, the governing body of the City of Mills desires to give effect to the guarantees for equal rights contained in the Constitution and laws of this State and the United States and to encourage and bring about mutual self-respect and understanding among all the citizens and groups in the community, and.

WHEREAS, under the Federal Fair Housing Law, it is illegal to deny housing to any persons because of race, color, religion, sex, familial status, disability or national origin:

Therefore, be it resolved that the City of Mills will: County of Natrona, Wyoming, makes a firm commitment to eliminate prejudice, intolerance, disorder and discrimination in housing based on race, color, religion, sex, familial status, disability or national origin.

THEREFORE, be it also resolved that the City of Mills will adhere to the following procedures to accomplish the purpose of the aforementioned resolution.

1. All and any discrimination complaints will be in writing, signed and addressed to the

Office of Fair Housing and Urban Development 1405 Curtis Street Executive Towers Denver, CO 80202

DASSED ADDROVED AND ADORTED ON THIS

- 2. The Fair Housing and Equal opportunity Logo will be displayed in the City buildings.
- 3. The City of Mills:
 - a. Assist and promote community efforts and responsible local fair housing within the community
 - b. Encourage local fair housing advocates in developing education programs to provide fair housing information to the community:
 - c. Instruct all department heads regarding the goals and objectives of the Fair Housing
 - d. Post a copy of the adopted Fair Housing Resolution in City Hall and Mills Post Office.

ΩE

2020

FASSED, AFFIROVED AND ADOFTED OF	N 11115012020.
Seth Coleman, Mayor	Sara McCarthy, Council
Darla R. Ives, Council	James Hollander, Council
Bradley Neumiller, Council	
ATTESTED:	
Christine Trumbull, City Clerk	