DESIGN COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES



Wednesday, November 2, 2022

CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chair Anthony Perez called the virtual meeting to order at 6:01 PM from a remote location.

ROLL CALL

Vice Chair Anthony Perez, Commissioners Megan Atkinson, Traci Granbois, Catherine Lategan, Claire McPherson (6:04), Christopher Patano, and Suzanne Zahr.

STAFF PRESENT

Ryan Harriman, Planning Manager Jeff Thomas, CPD Interim Director Deborah Estrada, Deputy City Clerk

APPEARANCES

There were no public appearances.

PUBLIC HEARING

Vice Chair Perez opened the public hearing at 6:04 PM. There being no one present to speak, the public hearing was closed at 6:05 PM

REGULAR BUSINESS

Election of Officers

Commissioner Lategan nominated Vice Chair Anthony Perez for Chair, which he declined.

Commissioner Perez nominated Suzane Zahr to be Chair, which she accepted.

Motion by Perez; seconded by Lategan to:

Approve Commissioner Zahr as Chair of the Design Commission.

Passed: 6-0-1 (Atkinson, Lategan, McPherson, Patano, Perez, and Zahr)

Abstain: 1 (Granbois)

Commissioner Zahr nominated Perez to be Vice Chair, which he accepted.

Motion by Patano; seconded by Atkinson to:

Approve Commissioner Perez as Vice Chair for the Design Commission.

Passed: 6-0-1 (Atkinson, Lategan, McPherson, Patano, Perez, and Zahr)

Abstain: 1 (Granbois)

Approve the minutes of the May 12, 2022, Regular Meeting.

Motion by Lategan; seconded by Perez to:

Approve the minutes of the May 12, 2022, Regular Meeting.

Passed: 6-0-1 (Atkinson, Granbois, Lategan, McPherson, Patano, and Perez)

Abstain: 1 (Zahr)

File No. DSR21-012: permit Type IV

Motion by Perez; seconded by Atkinson to:

Adopt the staff findings and conclusions contained within this staff report and APPROVE the proposed development subject to the recommended conditions of approval also contained in this staff report and approve, with one additional condition, Number 8, is that the applicant provide a continuous visual barrier in line with the proposed cedar fence to the adjacent southern buildingborder.

Motion to Lategan; seconded by Perez to amend the original motion to:

Replace "building" with "border."

Passed: 7-0: (Atkinson, Granbois, Lategan, McPherson, Patano, Perez, and Zahr)

Passed: 7-0; (Atkinson, Granbois, Lategan, McPherson, Patano, Perez, and Zahr)

OTHER BUSINESS

Ryan Harriman, Planning Manager, introduced himself.

Announcements & Communications - None

Next Schedule Meeting – tentatively scheduled for December 7, 2022.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 7:16 PM