

MEDINA, WASHINGTON

PLANNING COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

Hybrid-Virtual/In Person
Wednesday, May 24, 2023 – 6:00 PM

MINUTES

COMMISSION CHAIR | Laura Bustamante
COMMISSION VICE-CHAIR | Shawn Schubring
COMMISSIONERS | Li-Tan Hsu, David Langworthy, Mark Nelson, Laurel Preston,
Mike Raskin
PLANNING MANAGER | Stephanie Keyser

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Chair Bustamante called the meeting to order at 6:01pm

PRESENT

Chair Laura Bustamante
Vice Chair Shawn Schubring
Commissioner David Langworthy
Commissioner Mark Nelson
Commissioner Laurel Preston
Commissioner Mike Raskin
Commissioner Li-Tan Hsu

STAFF

Bennett, Burns, Keyser, Miner, Wilcox

2. APPROVAL OF MEETING AGENDA

By consensus, Planning Commission approved the meeting agenda as presented.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.1 Planning Commission Minutes of May 2, 2023

Recommendation: Approve Minutes.

Staff Contact: Rebecca Bennett, Development Services Coordinator

ACTION: Motion to approve minutes with amendment. (Approved 7-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Nelson, Seconded by Vice Chair Schubring. Voting Yea: Chair Bustamante, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Preston,

4. ANNOUNCEMENTS

4.1 Staff/Commissioners

Keyser announced that it was Mike Raskin's last Planning Commission meeting.

5. AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION

There was no audience participation.

6. DISCUSSION

6.1 Housing Action Plan Report

Recommendation: Approve

Staff Contact(s): Stephanie Keyser, AICP, Planning Manager

Time Estimate: 60 minutes

Keyser gave small overview of Housing Action Plan. Commissioners discussed and asked questions.

ACTION: Motion to approve Housing Action Plan as amended. (Approved 6-1).

Motion made by Commissioner Nelson, Seconded by Vice Chair Schubring. Voting Yea: Chair Bustamante, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Preston Voting Nay: Commissioner Raskin

7. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 6:43pm.

ACTION: Motion to adjourn. (Approved 7-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Nelson, Seconded by Commissioner Hsu. Voting Yea: Chair Bustamante, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Preston, Commissioner Raskin