

# MEDINA, WASHINGTON

## **PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING**

Virtual/Online
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 – 4:00 PM

### **MINUTES**

COMMISSION CHAIR | Laurel Preston
COMMISSION VICE-CHAIR | Shawn Schubring
COMMISSIONERS | Laura Bustamante, Li-Tan Hsu, David Langworthy, Mark Nelson, Mike
Raskin
PLANNING MANAGER | Stephanie Keyser

## 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Chair Preston called the meeting to order at 4:05pm.

PRESENT
Chair Laurel Preston
Vice Chair Shawn Schubring
Commissioner Laura Bustamante

Commissioner David Langworthy arrived at 5:18pm

Commissioner Mark Nelson Commissioner Mike Raskin

ABSENT Commissioner Li-Tan Hsu

STAFF

Bennett, Burns, Kellerman, Keyser, Miner, Wilcox

## 2. APPROVAL OF MEETING AGENDA

By consensus, Planning Commission approved the meeting agenda as presented.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.1 Planning Commission Minutes of April 26, 2022

**Recommendation**: Approve Minutes

Staff Contact: Rebecca Bennett, Development Services Coordinator

**ACTION**: Motion to approve amended minutes. (Approved 6-0)

Motion made by Vice Chair Schubring, Seconded by Commissioner Raskin. Voting Yea: Chair Preston, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Bustamante,

Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Raskin

## 4. ANNOUNCEMENTS

#### 4.1 Staff/Commissioners

Keyser announced that starting in September we will be moving to a hybrid meeting. Preston announced that the tree code recommendations are in front of council. Burns updated commissioners on the buffer between transitional housing and schools.

## 5. AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION

Paul Saad and India Fitting spoke of their concerns to alternatives to original grade.

### 6. DISCUSSION

6.1 Alternatives to Original Grade

**Recommendation:** Discussion

Staff Contact(s): Stephanie Keyser, Planning Manager

Time Estimate: 60 minutes

Keyser gave an update for alternatives to original grade. Commissioners discussed and asked questions. Staff responded accordingly.

## 7. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 6:02pm.

**ACTION**: Motion to adjourn.

Motion made by Commissioner Nelson, Seconded by Vice Chair Schubring. Voting Yea: Chair Preston, Vice Chair Schubring, Commissioner Bustamante, Commissioner Langworthy, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Raskin