

MEDINA, WASHINGTON

PLANNING COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

Hybrid - Virtual/In-Person Medina City Hall - Council Chambers 501 Evergreen Point Road, Medina, WA 98039 Thursday, January 16, 2025 – 6:00 PM

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Development Services Coordinator Rebecca Bennett called to order the special meeting of the Medina Planning Commission in the Council Chambers at 6:01pm.

PRESENT

Commission Chair Laura Bustamante Commission Vice-Chair Shawn Schubring Commissioner Julie Barrett Commissioner Li-Tan Hsu Commissioner Evonne Lai (Arrived @ 6:03pm) Commissioner Mark Nelson Commissioner Brian Pao (Arrived @ 6:10pm)

STAFF Bennett, Burns, Kesler, Peterson, Robertson, Tapert, Wilcox

2. ELECTIONS

2.1 Elect Chairperson and Vice Chairperson for 2025

Development Services Coordinator Rebecca Bennett asked for nominations for Chair. There was one nomination for Commissioner Laura Bustamante. Bennett asked for additional nominations. None were heard. Bennett closed the nomination period.

ACTION: Voting for Commissioner Bustamante as Chair. (Approved 6-0)

Voting Yea: Commissioner Barrett, Commissioner Bustamante, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Lai, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Schubring

Chair Laura Bustamante asked for nominations for Vice Chair. There was one nomination for Commissioner Shawn Schubring. Chair Bustamante asked for additional nominations. None were heard. Chair Bustamante closed the nomination period.

ACTION: Voting for Commissioner Schubring as Vice Chair. (Approved 6-0)

Voting Yea: Commission Chair Bustamante, Commissioner Barrett, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Lai, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Schubring

3. APPROVAL OF MEETING AGENDA

Without objections, the meeting agenda was approved as presented.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

4.1 Planning Commission Meeting Minutes of December 5, 2024
 Recommendation: Adopt minutes.
 Staff Contact: Rebecca Bennett, Development Services Coordinator

ACTION: Motion to approve minutes. (Approved 6-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Hsu, Seconded by Commissioner Barrett. Voting Yea: Commission Chair Bustamante, Commission Vice-Chair Schubring, Commissioner Barrett, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Lai, Commissioner Nelson

4.2 Planning Commission Meeting Minutes of December 18, 2024
 Recommendation: Adopt minutes.
 Staff Contact: Rebecca Bennett, Development Services Coordinator

ACTION: Motion to approve minutes. (Approved 5-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Barrett, Seconded by Commissioner Hsu. Voting Yea: Commission Chair Bustamante, Commission Vice-Chair Schubring, Commissioner Barrett, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Nelson Voting Abstaining: Commissioner Lai

5. ANNOUNCEMENTS

5.1 Staff/Commissioners

City Manager, Steve Burns, announced that he will be retiring June 2025. Laura thanked the commissioners for attending the community forums.

6. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

There was no public comment.

7. DISCUSSION

7.1 Concerns of the Commission

Chair Bustamante would like an update on what is progressing through the legislature.

7.2 Approval of the 2025 Planning Commission Calendar of Meetings <u>Recommendation</u>: Discussion and adoption <u>Staff Contact</u>: Jonathan Kesler, AICP, Planning Manager

Kesler gave PowerPoint presentation on the 2025 Planning Commission Calendar.

ACTION: Motion to approve as amended. (Approved 5-0)

Motion made by Commission Vice-Chair Schubring, Seconded by Commissioner Pao. Voting Yea: Commission Chair Bustamante, Commission Vice-Chair Schubring, Commissioner Barrett, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Nelson Voting Abstaining: Commissioner Lai

7.3 Middle Housing Review
 <u>Recommendation</u>: Discussion
 <u>Staff Contacts</u>: Jonathan Kesler, AICP, Planning Manager; Kirsten Petersen, Senior
 Project Manager, SCJ Alliance
 Time Estimate: 90 minutes

SCJ Staff presented red-lined document on Middle Housing Review. Commissioners discussed and asked questions.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 7:52pm.

ACTION: Motion to adjourn. (Approved 7-0)

Motion made by Commissioner Pao, Seconded by Commissioner Barrett. Voting Yea: Commission Chair Bustamante, Commission Vice-Chair Schubring, Commissioner Barrett, Commissioner Hsu, Commissioner Lai, Commissioner Nelson, Commissioner Pao