

Agenda Item Summary

MEETING DATE:	July 29, 2024
SUBJECT:	Appointment of William Jorgensen as Regular Planning Commissioner
PRESENTED BY:	Jason Bradford, AICP, Community Development Director

SUMMARY

The Planning Commission consists of five (5) regular members and two (2) alternate members appointed by the Board of Trustees in accordance with Section 2-7-30 of the Mead Municipal Code ("MMC"). Diane Kure, who served on the Commission for many years, has resigned from the Planning Commission, creating a vacancy in one of the regular positions, for a term ending on December 31, 2026.

Section 2-7-30 of the MMC provides that residents must meet the following requirements to qualify for a position on the Planning Commission:

- Qualified elector;
- Resident of the Town for at least twelve (12) consecutive months;
- Attended at least two (2) Planning Commission meetings; and
- Not an immediate family member of, or reside in the same household as, a member of the Board of Trustees or another member of the Planning Commission

Town staff recommends William Jorgenson for the regular position. Mr. Jorgensen currently serves as an alternate member of the Planning Commission. Specifically. Mr. Jorgensen was recently seated as an alternate member of the Commission (for a term of office through December 31, 2024) by the Board of Trustees at the June 24, 2024 regular Board meeting. Due to the resignation of Diane Kure, Staff is recommending that Mr. Jorgensen be seated as a regular member of the Planning Commission.

FINANCIAL CONSIDERATIONS

None

STAFF RECOMMENDATION/ACTION REQUIRED

Staff recommends that the Board of Trustees appoint William Jorgensen as a regular member of the Planning Commission, for the term ending on December 31, 2026, via the following motion:

Suggested Motion:

"I move to appoint William Jorgenson as a Regular Planning Commissioner for the four-year term through December 31, 2026, effective July 29, 2024."